You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TROLL: A danger of that label... Mute or Not To Mute that is the question...

in #troll8 years ago

I used to post counter arguments on subjects that would interest me even when I didn't believe in this counter argument. I did it so that others would help me understand why I didn't like it, to find real arguments against it and to help others with the same. Basically any subject discussed I'd touch from every single angle, as disgusting as some would find it, to create discussion and basically settle the subject, at least in my head.

Because of this practice a lot of people started believing that I was just speaking to win an argument by bringing up a new point each time, that I just wanted the last word. These people started seeing me as a troll and there are many who have chosen to stay away from me as a result.

I wouldn't stop though I have many times experimented with different approaches, different ways to word things so that I don't shock people enough so that all I get in return are insults. I don't learn much from insults, even though one can also learn from insults about the things that upset others.

I haven't had to use the mute button on Steemit yet and hope I never have to, even if I find a shill I wouldn't mute them because I'd still want to know the lies they are spreading. Though I do like that I have the option to mute and would like to see it expanded to tags, I would like to be able to follow tags and well as mute them.

Sort:  

This is acceptable and is a practice that has existed long before FLAMERS or TROLLS. It is sometimes called the Devil's Advocate and it can be important.

You'll know a troll if they flip flop on sides and the things they say have no consistency other than the consistent desire to rile you up.

It doesn't sound like that was you. That is partially why I wrote this article. It was my hope people would consider that often the people they are calling a troll is NOT a troll. Disagreeing is not Trolling.