Don’t Be a Deer in the Headlights

in #triptolemus6 years ago

This is a follow-up on my previous post with another success tip: don’t be a deer in the headlights.

What does that mean?

Don’t exhibit analysis paralysis - the inability to take action because you are weighing your options too deeply and too indecisively.

Don’t get me wrong, weighing your options is an essential decision making skill, but there is such a thing as overthinking your options. If you continue and continue to analyze rather than act, then you will get nothing done. You need to strike the right balance.

A balance of these 2 can be hard to find, but that’s a part of the journey of life. You have to learn what works for you.

If it helps, here is what works for me:

The first thing I do when it comes to making a decision is make either a mental* or written note of why I want to do that thing in the first place and what my end-intention is.

I think of this first step as being like a sailor who is trying to reach a particular destination. This sailor won't just leave the shore without knowing which direction to point the sail!!!

*If the decision is simple then I won't write it down, I'll just think about it. If the decision is more complex, then I'll be more careful when weighing my options and I'll write it down.

The second thing I do (depending on the severity of the decision) is just do it. If the situation is something that has a known outcome that you like, then it shouldn't take much more decision-making to start doing it... Reading or working out are good examples.

If it is a decision that has some intense impact, then you should be more careful to weigh your options and you may even want to consult with some friends/family, do some additional research etc..


I really think it's that simple to make decisions. Just cultivate an understanding for each option and the outcomes/benefits of each option and then start acting. You can always re-evaluate after you get started. Be adaptable and actionable!!

Sort:  

Free Upvotes
cooltext292615989443333.png
ENJOY !

Thx for another informative post. Easy to read.
Please continue up with creating interesting content - it may be hard at the beginning to build reach and solid followers base.
Steemits needs solid content builders so just dont ever give up! :)

Already followed and upvoted :) Cheers,

Your post had been curated by the @buildawhale team and mentioned here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@buildawhale/buildawhale-curation-digest-07-17-18

Keep up the good work and original content, everyone appreciates it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40