Doing What You Love to Do

in #triptolemus6 years ago

How do you really know when you're doing what you love to do? For me, I know that I'm doing what I love to do when I wake up in the morning and I feel energized and fired up to start the day.

It may sound ridiculous, but doing what you love isn't always obvious. It's not always easy to see the path clearly.

I've had many times in my life when I didn't really know what to do with myself. I started a job and realized that I hated it, so I quit 1 month in and started something new.

I've bounced around from job to job and even tried my hand at freelancing for a while. I could never quite figure out what I really wanted to do with my life and my time.

All I knew was that I had great ambitions - I wanted to do great things in life and make progress and I wanted to live an exciting life that's filled with travel and doing what I love to do everyday.

I knew that waking up happy was the most desirable thing in the world to me. I just couldn't quite place what I would need to work on each day in order to feel happy.

A few months ago, I started realizing (albeit slowly realizing) what makes me truly happy. I started realizing what I truly enjoy doing on a daily basis.

I also realized why I was constantly jumping from job to job.

What I truly love to do is to learn. I love learning. I love adapting. I love learning a new skill - getting completely obsessed with some skill and mastering 80% of the skill.

It was once I started to get to that top 20% - the nitty gritty grind of a skill that I no longer enjoyed it and started looking for a new skill.

I realized that I enjoy the thrill and the excitement and the unknown. I enjoy the fluidity that comes with learning a new skill - the fact that every single day is an unknown - you can learn so much in such a short period of time when you're learning something completely new.

I realized that the thing that I should focus on is markets and technology... I love blockchain tech and I love learning about it. I have a relatively limited technical knowledge:

I have no idea how to code and I don't really have much of a desire to learn how to code.

Regardless of that, I still love to learn the ins and outs of how blockchains work. I love the economics and the theory of blockchains and their underlying systems. I find it fascinating and I think there are a plethora of opportunities within the space that are outside the realm of coding.


I've realized in the past few months that doing what you love to do is underrated.. People love to talk about it, but few ever get to experience it.

Sort:  

Lovely writing! I resonate with this. I'd love to just wake up excited for everyday. I'm getting closer to that life. ♡

Great cocept of life do what you love to do thanks for such great thought.

You got a 67.92% upvote from @upme thanks to @triptolemus! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% from your share, daily payouts ( no commission ).
Quick delegation links: 25SP | 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40