A Chinese Proverb that Changed My Life

in #triptolemus6 years ago

We've all heard a quote or read some passage in a book that changed our view of things in life. It changed our view of how we conduct our every day life.

Since I first read this proverb in a book a few years ago, I've thought about it hundreds, probably even thousands of times.

“The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now.” - Chinese Proverb

I started reading books heavily when I was 16. Reading for pleasure that is, not reading for school or any other mandate that someone else gave me.

Reading changed my life and changed my perspective and outlook on everything. It changed my ambitions and relationships... It simply changed everything for me.

I started wishing though, probably around the time I was 17 or 18, that I had started reading earlier than 16... I wondered to myself why I wouldn't have read earlier.

Rather than at 16, I wish I could've started reading at 6.

I've come to realize just how profound that proverb is.

When you know something is good for you, the best time to do it was years and years ago. The second best time to do it is right now.

If you don't start that habit - start running, reading, writing, investing... - right now, then in 5 years, you'll look back and wish you had started doing it.

You always have to charge forward and keep developing amazing habits and do the things that you know are right for you. If you don't, you're doomed to a life filled with regrets.


What is 1 habit that you want to start right now? A habit that you know you should've started years ago, but now realize that you need to start doing it today in order to not have any regret..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62