Drying summer flowers and leafs from your garden as tea for winter...

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

Drying summer flowers and leafs from your garden as tea for winter...

I don't know what's gotten in to me but lately I am so excited about anything that I can eat or drink from the garden. Anything... It's like a sport to find more and more and I do...find more and more.
Today I found these to dry as herbal tea:

IMG_3735.JPG

Hibiscus flower ( the purple ones)
Good for cooling, the nervous system and the heart. I have bought it in the shop before, it's a bit tart and is really nice with some honey and cinamon.

Mint: Good for digestion.

Rose petals: Just delicious and soothing, bringing in some Venus energy, I wanted to write, but Oh my God how many health benefits rose tea has is incredible: Stress relief, menstrual cramps relief, stimulates bile production for better digestion of fats, anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial, high in vitamin c!

Calendula ( the orange flower): Good for the digestive system, menstrual cramps, overal regulating the menstrual cycle ( Don't drink while pregnant as it induces menstruation. )

Lavender: The small grey buds, they had already dried on the plant.: They are good for calming the nervous system and giving an overal good feeling. Very aromatic, also nice with honey.

You can put your herbs and flower leafs on a platter and place them on the windowsill to let them dry. It won't take long in the middle of the summer. Then you can put them in separate jars or mix them together for a nice herbal tea mixture.
If you want to make use of the specific healing properties of each herb, it is smart to keep them in separated jars.

Wouldn't it be nice to drink your own summer herbal tea, while you are sitting in front of a fire in winter?
I think such things add such a nice personal touch to your life. All we have to do is harvest some things right now, while the world is full of abundance and colour.

Happy harvesting!

Lots of Love Undrach-Clara @wombloom

I am a proud member of:

image.png

![SS-pansies-EN.jpg](https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmUjrFK6AZBBAm1QadCWzitD33MWTNtpsSUr9Mn9hVm5r6/SS-
pansies-EN.jpg)

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

xx

Sort:  

WHAT AN awesome post!!!
We could be kindred sisters! I love foraging in my herb and flowers and using them for medicinal herbal teas.

I don't have Hibiscus.. yet... maybe next year.

Yeah! It's fun ainit? What are you drying? I got nettle and dandelion too.

Today I went out a second time to stroll through the garden and grabbed some motherwort that was flowering to make a tincture and some raspberry leaves. This is the only time of year I can grab, dehydrate and get fresh raspberry leaves so I scoop up as much as I can.

Motherwort

mw.jpg

I don't have nettle here... but I did get dandelions earlier and made dandelion infused oil and salve.

Aw nice! Good idea, I have raspberry leaves too! What can you make of that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86