You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts On The State Of Steemit & Why Humility Is The Path To Wisdom

in #tribesteemup5 years ago

Superb article, and full of honesty.
If I may add a few thoughts to this.

I have noticed also that even among the brightest & the visionaries on here, the people you would assume or expect to be the least easily offended, it is not so, you write one thing someone does not like, regardless of subject matter and boom, no more votes or interactions.
I speak to people on here that have the totally opposite view to me on some subjects, I appreciate they have a unique view, based on their own experience, and I respect their individual right to think differently from me. It seems I am a minority though, as most on here, as in life, want echo chambers, and people around them that do nothing but agree.

This for me is the single biggest problem society faces, mob rules, without a clue.

Sort:  

"I speak to people on here that have the totally opposite view to me on some subjects, I appreciate they have a unique view, based on their own experience, and I respect their individual right to think differently from me."

I observe that the ability of the corrupt to seize Steem increases their power, and this creates enemies of those that oppose that mechanism. Conversely, your own intent to be of benefit to others creates friends of those with different views, because that increases your own understanding.

Effecting mechanisms that reduce incentive for the former behaviour, and increase incentive to be beneficial, will dramatically alter the dynamic and increase the benefits to society of our interactions. This principle conforms to reality, and how mutual aid increases the strength of all, and corruption and profiteering decreases the strength of the community. Natural forces will preferentially favor the latter over the former, and as development continues our circumstances are certain to improve.

If not Steem, then better mechanisms will eventuate, and probably soon.

Thank you my friend .. in terms of honesty, I just don't want people to ever think that I'm speaking from some kind of ivory tower, I'm not perfect .. but each day I try to be a better man .. but still I acknowledge that we are all stumbling our way through life. All I have is a perspective and a good intent behind that perspective .. some like it/some don't (such is life) but I wouldn't be true to myself if I didn't follow my own path.

In terms of the echo chambers that you allude to .. yes I couldn't agree more. As I have previously written about, its my belief that the algorithms that have been unleashed upon the net are dividing the populace into categories and in turn are quite literally nudging people towards the extremes of their belief systems, in turn rewiring the social construct of our society. People are increasingly cocooned within their personal digital nirvana and as such this is feeding self-righteous arrogance .. because anyone that doesn't agree with you must be thick, or a sheep .. right?

This for me is the single biggest problem society faces, mob rules, without a clue.

Yes I couldn't agree more .. it is both insidious and extremely dangerous to any semblance of a cohesive society, sadly I fear it is also deliberate. Thanks again for the great comment @shepz1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91