You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Shapes Our Lives - My Response to TribeSteemup's Bi-weekly Question...

in #tribesteemup5 years ago

Actually I did want to mention the ultimate goal of Nirvana (Sanskrit: nirvāṇa; Pali: nibbana) - the ending of clinging and suffering. For it is that clinging which gives rise to suffering which, in turn, gives rise to further clinging. It's kind of a self-perpetuating process that continues on and on and is the “fuel” for rebirth. So the ultimate goal is to break out of that cycle. I didn't mention it in my post for I thought people would think I was just spewing a bunch of religious jargon but my understanding is growing where I can see the Four Noble Truths (as the Buddha puts it)

They are the truth of suffering, the truth of the cause of suffering, the truth of the end of suffering, and the truth of the path that leads to the end of suffering.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62507.39
ETH 2451.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64