How does one deal with/accept a loved one who displays self destructive tendencies?

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Experience

So why do I choose to answer this in my own words?
I choose this because it's something I have struggled with for most of my life.
Since I was a young lad I always had this moment when life would shatter even if I had nothing to worry about.
Why was this my parents wondered, he has everything he needs, we were not well off but we had enough.
Ok so why? Well skipping ahead many years after plenty of heartache and finding myself lost in the world stuck with no way out it seemed.

Discovery

My Mom, rest her soul, found out she was bipolar, her discovery of this helped her look back at my behavior, and it explained everything I was going through, and yes it was a self destructive mentality that came along with it. And my life was going no where.

Redemption

So being very interested in this new discovery lead me down a new path of acceptance and redemption.
I started to learn everything I could about the disability. I mean everything, but it took some years to get on any type of medication that could help. But knowing became half the battle. So the fight was on to discover who I was with this new disability called "bipolar". Well at the time it was still very new, not many doctors had the answers I was looking for.

The struggle

The struggle was more apparent then ever, and though I knew it, it did not stop the wake of destruction to everything & everyone even myself. I struggled over the years with thoughts of suicide and self mutilation on top of everything else, not being able to hold a steady job for more then a few weeks or months depending on my ups and downs.
So the struggle was real, so how did I deal.

Dealing with bipolar

After finally getting some sort of help and being around family after my mom's death lead me to seek official medical mental treatment for this to balance out my cycle of this now more apparent mental illness. Because just knowing is not enough to solve the problem. I got on some medication and made some changes and yes found "God" again in my life.

Spirituality

Well having a since of spirituality was a major change in my life, it's not perfect but it helps in so many ways to give your life up to a loving father who knows you more then you know yourself. Whether you believe or not, spirituality is a know part of our human existence. Once we recognize and reconnect to that source of light we change everything in our lives.
Now I'm not going to say this was a fix all solution but life changing to say the least.

Side note about my escapism

For Years words and music comforted me. This lead me down a path of years of poetry, a gift it seemed. Like these bipolar issues running through my veins would just bleed out onto paper. Sometimes I would even mark it with blood. What I'm trying to say is poetry has literally saved my life a number of times. I was never focused enough to fully learn music until later on in my life as poetry was great and all but I, finding a sense of balance, replaced it with sound later to become songs of a new kind of life I was finding myself in.

Drugs/alcohol

Lets of course not leave out the struggle there. Yes in most forms I've done it, not proud but not regretting the experience. Its years of trying to self medicate which is escaping in the moment but not helping. Sad to say most struggle with it as it does come along for the ride with this destructive attitude this struggle to be some kind of normal. Always wondering why me.

Family & today

I never had a super tight loving family but love was there. I was always finding places to live with friends at the time and that wake of destruction along for the ride. Well today I dont have alot of friends but the ones I do have support me and give me my space, because sadly I will always struggle with this.

Though my life is better today then it has ever been I have to be careful/cautious and open to a reality I share with my new family. Because now it's not just me I have to stay balanced for my family the best I can. I've yes since settled down with my new family today is more supportive then ever, bless them for this they dont deserve to have these times I freak out and regret saying something or breaking something or just sad and depressed most of the time because of it.

The deal

Well we deal with it, we show love at all times. We dont nag one another to keep balance. When I'm in that state of mind I am given time to heal, prayer and Jehovah God are in my life along with a minimal amount of medication daily to suppress the depression, so I live as balanced and happy as I can and have ever since the discovery.

Trust me this is not easy but it is doable, and I may not be a great writer but I think you can get the point of the story.

The struggle of the life I live as "krazypoet" a good guy who means well and is doing the best he can to survive with this disability in a positive way.

And not afraid to share this reality, because it is me but it does not define me, but sharing can help someone understand and help them to help themselves like I have over the years.


LIST OF STEPS THAT HELP

  • discovery - knowing is half the battle

  • acceptance - know what's wrong try and find ways to help

  • medication - whether you choose to or not it does help but it's not for everyone

  • diet/exercise - this does change your balance

  • spirituality - God changes everything

  • love - love is the defining quality

  • patience - is a must

  • outlet/hobby - I recommend some kind of hobby that you love to do whether good at it or not

  • sleep - you must rest your mind and body

  • one with nature - get out and connect with nature and release


Well that's all I can think of right now hope it helps or expresses enough to understand some more about me as a fellow human being









Previous Post




All pictures or anything on my blog is my own unless otherwise stated...©krazypoet™



A positive, joyful attitude helps to keep us strong and promotes peace and unity.



I'm Jason Arnold (@krazypoet)


Join & Chat
Steem Infinity

Stay positive and constructive even during tough times and keep working towards something better.



Thanks for stopping by
Much Love to all & be well
Remember

Stay Positive

This is the best way to steem on


krazypoet_red.png

image


divergent convergence.png

Listen to A.I. Here

Template0720.jpg

NEW ALBUM AVAILABLE NOW

On all major services ✌😁

iTunes/Apple Music

Deezer

Google Play

Spotify

YouTube Music

Amazon

Pandora

My Choons
Find me at steemauto
10sp / 20sp / 50sp / 100sp / 250sp / 500sp / 1000sp / 5000sp

divergent convergence.png

Other Centralized Platforms over the years

Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Soundcloud / YouTube / Goggle / Krazypoet.com

Sort:  

This is neat and gorgeous

Hey thanks so much, tried to make it nice to look at, hope you find it encouraging as well.
Stay positive and constructive even during tough times and keep working towards something better.

be well


Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Soundcloud / YouTube / Goggle / Krazypoet.com

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by krazypoet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to tate. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

Hi, @krazypoet!

You just got a 0.64% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76