Beyond My Control? [An Answer to @tribesteemup's question - How Much Control Do You Feel You Have Over Your Life?]

in #tribesteemup5 years ago

So, I've been reading interesting posts for the past few days in response to @tribesteemup's question 'How much control do we have over life?' and there are a lot of interesting ideas out there (check out @minismallholding's post on the subject as well as this really interesting response from @riverflows). And I don't really know how this #TribeSteemUp thing works, if you have to be a member of something, but it's a subject that I've been pondering a lot lately, so I figured I'd throw in my two cents' worth.

How Much Control Do You Feel You Have Over Your Life?


miguel-bruna-503098-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Miguel Bruna on Unsplash

I'm usually very two-ways about this sort of question, so that depending on the day you ask, I'll say we control everything or nothing. Honestly, I think both those answers are wrong.

You can't control everything, simply because so many things in your life depend on third parties - your parents, friends, colleagues, neighbors, even random strangers you pass by on the street...they all make up part of your life.

For example, you get stuck in traffic while on your way to a job interview because Joe decided he should leave his wife and start a new life. And as luck would have it, he decided to do it today, of all days. He didn't know you had a big job interview and he didn't know he'd cause a hold-up. However, Joe's mechanic was working on Joe's car the other day, but his mind was elsewhere (he has a baby on the way, say), so he messed something up in Joe's car.

So, you missed your big job interview because of Joe's mechanic. And you don't even know Joe...hey, it happens...

So, you can't control everything. A lot of who we are is a result of how we were brought up, frustrations pent up as children, injustices suffered when we felt too small to raise our voices, lies served to us as truth. They all have an impact on us. We can't change that.

However, we can change who we are and control how we react to all these external factors and stimuli.

See, I'm a big believe in choices. Maybe my parents could've raised me better, maybe my teacher in third grade could've been kinder. But how their actions affect me, the adult, is up to me. My choice now is how much I let that dictate my behavior, my words and actions.

I can let the bad break-up from five years ago influence me and destroy all future endeavors. Or I can choose to be stronger than that, I can tell myself I can do this until I can actually do it.

Choices.

In life, we are faced with so many unexpected situations. We can control and prevent some, but not others. And they will catch up with you in the end, believe me. Sooner or later, you find yourself face to face with a decision or a make-or-break moment in your life and how you react to that moment is up to you.
How you allow that moment to influence you later is also up to you.

So, I guess the short answer is - some. I like to think I have some control over my life. Even when it would be easier to blame the bad things on someone else, I know I must take responsibility for my actions and choices.

I can't control everything that happens. But I control my reaction to what happens and that will have to be good enough.

Anyway, those are my thoughts on the subject. What do you think?

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

Crap happens and you can spend your life being angry about it or realise that it is all experience which shapes you and made you what you are today. I now look back and say, 'I don't like that you did that to me, but I learnt self reliance because of it.'

Tribesteemup encompasses and supports a group of related communities which are there to help support others. These questions aren't owned, they're there to help get people thinking and I believe everyone's welcome to answer them. That's certainly the ethos of the #ecotrain.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh cool, I've been watching their blog from the sidelines for a while now and finally figured I'd try my hand at it :D Sure gets you thinking..

'Crap happens' seems like a really good way to put it. ;) Agreed, you can stay hung up forever over something in your past or you can reassess the situation with the knowledge you have now.
'Now what?' is one of my favorite questions precisely because it pushes you to figure out what's next, forces you to move on.

By the way, I really enjoyed your post on the subject :D Wanted to comment as well, but somehow got caught in doing other things...

A person can control themselves and that ultimately helps bring clarity to their lives, if not control.

Posted using Partiko Android

True, you can live well with the knowledge you've done your best, or that you've done things that are right by you. But nothing more.

Control is an odd question. Sometimes I do feel like I have a bit of it and most times Life will slap you in the face and say, "Oh you made a plan eh? well how about this?" So who can say right? @honeydue ?

Haha yes, there's nothing that amuses the universe more than a plan...I think your adaptability to change defines who you are, in the end. Because if you get hung up on things not going how you wanted, you're not going to go very far, are you?

No one can say right, it's just one of those questions where best you can do is guess, based on your own personal experiences. Because it's so closely related to the God question, isn't it? We don't know if there's a plan. We like to think there is a bigger plan for us, but maybe that's just because chaos terrifies us...

Well, of course this touches on the philosophical question of free will as well. There are days it feels like my consciousness is just riding around in this body with no say at all over what it does, like I'm watching a movie. I go through entire conversations scripted by someone else because I can't find a way to change the channel. But that's usually because I'm overdue for a nap.

I think with a bit of planning we can exert the control we need. (I'd leave an hour early for that job interview, for example.) But I'm not really sure we freely make our own decisions.

I can relate...

There are just so many possibilities, you know? so many arguments both ways...I don't fully trust anyone who claims to know the absolute truth about this, because how?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99