You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🕉 The Relationship between Surfing and Yoga Part 2: 🌊Flow

in #tribesteemup6 years ago

I can totally relate to this but for different reasons. I've never surfed and I suck at yoga( hence why I do It in the privacy of my home and won't go to a class haha). But...
I play music, mainly the piano and guitar. I can't read or write it, so I play by ear. When I'm engrossed in it the frequency and vibrations create the flow and something magical happens inside. Almost like butterflies in your tummy, coupled with a feeling of calmness and serenity. You feel grounded. But of course because everything is energy and vibrations. So in much the same way as being connected to nature I feel music has that power too.

Sort:  

Oh ABSOLUTELY!!! I'm glad you commented... although I don't play and am envious you do, it's what I imagined music flow would be like. Beautiful.

There's debate about the use of music in yoga but sometimes it helps the flow as you are tuned in with one of your senses... like to the mantra I posted the other day. And as you said, you are tuning in to particular frequencies.

It's quite a magical joyful feeling!

My Dad just gave me his Laramie parlour guitar so I might start playing again. For me it's quite meditative.. each note is a 'now' moment!

Oh.. and no one sucks at yoga!!!! I'll write a post about that one day....but as long as yiu are breathing, you are doing well!!!

Ooh that's ace! Yes that certainly is a sign you should be playing again! Maybe we could do a collaboration project to raise awareness for some good cause? 😊😊🤔❤
I listen to calming music when I'm (trying) practicing yoga. It's interesting that you mention about having a deeper connection without it. Maybe I should try that? 😊❤❤

Haha I can't keep time!!

Try practicing with the sound of your breath as a constant rhythm... are you familiar with ujjayi? Or 4 count in... 4 out... stay for a certain cycle of breaths in each pose and bring your attention and whole attention to where the breath arises and lands in the body. It can really transform your practice! It's the breath, particularly the attention on exhalation, that will relax you. When I do this to a mantra... omg... FLOW!

Yes I am familiar with the breath rhythm, I learnt at college as part of our voice and movement training, just not in the context of yoga. I don't know if it's my inability to multi task , I find it difficult to breathe doing yoga 🤔😂. My app tells me to breathe in and then I feel I'm holding it for an eternity until they say exhale haha. May be it's a glitch. For the most part I just try and keep my breathing natural. Hmmmm. I'll try your advice and let you know how it works out. ❤❤😊

Ha yeah I hate being told a specific count.. if rather follow my own Haha!!! As I was writing I was thinking you'd likely know about breathing and movement...!!

What was the voice and movement training part of?

Haha yeah it works if you're laying down doing nothing else but when you're trying to move and breathe well... um... at least think about moving into random unaccustomed positions anyhow 😂.

I was studying a diploma in drama in Singapore. The course was accredited by QUT which was really cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63