Best Way To Get Free Beer? Volunteer! // IPA Canning At Holidaily // Gluten Free & Natural

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Admittedly, beer was not always one of my favorite beverages, but over time this has become one of my favorite ways to pass time. As a native San Franciscan I was raised on the fine wines coming from Napa Valley and that graduated to gourmet coffee.

Beer was a deterrent with weight gain and an allergic reaction to gluten, the taste never really fascinated me either. Well, one day while walking around town in Colorado there was talk of a new gluten free brewery opening up and it just was a must visit. So, on the following Happy Hour Friday, a trip to the new Holidaily was the location, and all I can say is that I was immediately hooked.

So hooked in fact, that I make it a point to volunteer periodically to help the crew out and take home the natural ingredient brew. The last time I volunteered, the staff allowed me to take photos so I could share their establishment with Steemit.

holidaily brewery.png

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Once a week, Holidaily opens their doors to the public during the day for volunteer canning. What better way to spend a few hours helping the local community Eagle Spirit grins happily, the brewery is small but makes the best brew around.

unnamed.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The door is open as we walk in, but everyone is in the back and since this is Colorado and not NYC then we know we are safe.

unnamed-1.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Even though I had been here many times it was a bit different after hours. The place is never so packed that you can't find a seat, but still it was a bit creepy.

unnamed-2.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Since I knew I was going to be featuring the Holidaily Brewery on Steemit I took tons of photos of everything I noticed, like this cool sign made from a tree.

unnamed-3.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

As you first walk into the back part of the building a huge vat with my favorite brew has been fermenting for months. My eyes are on this one ... lovingly.

unnamed-4.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

I'm not sure what all of the vats hold but they are all brewing tasty beer for us all to enjoy.

unnamed-5.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The Holiday philosophy:

The concept behind Holidaily Brewing Company is driven by a personal
understanding and a passion to provide those with celiac diagnosis, gluten
sensitivity or any interest in trying a tasty gluten-free craft beer, a guaranteed safe, delicious beer to enjoy.

unnamed-6.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The Holidaily story:

Is the passion project of Karen Hertz, a craft beer enthusiast and lover of living life to the fullest. Karen survived melanoma and thyroid cancer in her early 30’s, leading to a treatment plan including a gluten-free diet. Along with beating cancer came the desire to focus on health, happiness and a commitment to celebrate life every single day.

unnamed-7.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

As soon as I looked straight ahead brew was being funneled into cans and they were working their way down the assembly line.

unnamed-8.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

But first, I had to sign a three page waiver that I would not steal or share any in-house secrets.

unnamed-9.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

My first assignment was to weight the cans to make sure the proper magic number came up, if the number was too low then we got to keep them ... for later. Yes, to drink!

unnamed-10.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

It was a bit confusing at first, but I managed to grab a pair of gloves since the cans were cold to the touch and we had to roll the cans to the next person to snap a plastic lid of four and box them up.

unnamed-11.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Quite a bit of canning had been done already, but IPA Fat Randy's was our job for the day.

unnamed-12.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

What I liked was the cleanliness of the place and conscientious organization.

unnamed-13.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

As empty cans were placed on the conveyor belt from this forklift we all jammed out to Classic Rock tunes and got to know one another. There were about eight people altogether sharing in community giving and having a good time.

unnamed-14.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Tons of tubes, lights, and beer was everywhere but thankfully I wore my water shoes and rolled up my pants. My clothes got pretty soaked but after being handed a beer at 11 AM, what else was there to do but sip and enjoy the moment.

unnamed-15.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

We finished canning two of these big vats of beer in approximately four hours. It was a proud moment.

unnamed-16.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The people were so fun, even this really nice man was helping out and keeping the empty cans from falling all over the floor.

unnamed-17.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

I'm not sure what all of the gadgets were but I instinctively knew they were there to keep all the chemicals balanced and tasty.

unnamed-18.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

This was a view from the other side of the conveyor belt and where the tubes from the vat poured into the beer cans.

unnamed-19.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-20.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-21.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-22.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-23.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

There were a few guys keeping track of how much beer came out of the tubes and when to start a new vat. Of course they were drinking beer the entire time, I mean why not?

unnamed-24.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-25.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Next up was the combining of four beers into a four-pack for selling in the local liquor stores.

unnamed-26.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-27.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

After each pallet was finished then it was plastic wrapped and put into a huge refrigerator. Some were left unwrapped because these were the less then satisfactory for sale items. These were the ones we could select to take home if we wanted too.

unnamed-28.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Large shelves contained the grains used for different brews, this guy was hauling in a new shipment.

unnamed-29.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The four grains primarily used in a gluten free mix are millet, buckwheat, and rice. The taste is unlike anything you have tried and if I could advertise worldwide for this beer I would. For a small fee ...

unnamed-30.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-31.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-32.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-33.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

This sign changes monthly and a new brew is created to keep the customers happy. My favorite just came back in, so ecstatic was a mild term I was feeling on that day.

unnamed-34.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

The awards have started to come in for this fairly new brewery and well deserved. A new brewery is being built and I cannot wait to somehow be a part of this new venture.

unnamed-35.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-36.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

This was the take home for the day of volunteer canning and what a special treat this was, per four-pack is typically $20 USD plus, depending on the brew.

unnamed-37.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

unnamed-38.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Complimentary lunch was served along with all you can drink beer. How is that for a few hours of one's day spending in helping the community? After that experience IPA Fat Randy's has become one of my all time favorites.

As always I love community engagement, so please leave a comment and I will be sure to reply.

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

image

Disclaimer: Permission by Holidaily was given to take these photos and share their story. If you are ever in this are, take some time to enjoy the best beer I have ever tasted.

Sort:  

OMFGs I wish we had something like that around here.... I would SO go help can/bottle beer in exchange for some.

I have a friend who is the brewer at 2 Brothers, a local craft brewery here in Melbourne... maybe I could have a chat with him. They do an amazing Pilsner!!!

Cheers!
😊🙏🏽🍻

Yasss! Let me
know if they let you in ... we may find you hungover in the fridge! 😈😛😈

Sounds like a decent little side gig... =)

/FF

dope! I too avoided beer/same reasons but am seeing more gluten free and recently one that had cbd in it so am going to try to enjoy it again without hopefully expanding like a balloon
nice post

yay! GF is so much better, thank you for the shout out.

I have volunteered for the food and wine festivals here, and I have never drank so much in my life! I also got to sip on some high value red burgundy, also some cristal! Not to mention all the food I could eat!

yay! theyre fun right? ive donw wine too. us lushes 😈

Nice, I always wondered how they "tapped" the beer cans, now I know. Thanks a lot!
I don't have any gluten allergy but I think I am slightly intolerant to gluten, because when I cut it out from my diet I feel great and my stomach become nice and flat...

This inspired me to try and make a "gluten-free DIY beer brewing project" Im thinking corn-syrup mixed with rice-syrup and maybe champagne yeast and a dash of sugar and some wildcrafted hops should do the trick.

Thanks for sharing!

/FF

i have the same reactions, more bloating than anything. no major outbreaks or bathroom
incidents. really? LOL have you made home made? syrup cant be good for anyone?

Corn/rice syrup is potentially great! 😂😂😂

Or well it has the right types of sugars that could potentially substitute malt, malt is often like a syrup but made from sprouted wheat, that has been roasted I think and pulverized or liquified into a kind of syrup with gluten, the kind they use for normal beer...

I guess it's the "high fructose GMO corn syrup" that we should avoid, but then again the yeast eats the sugar/syrup and turns them into co2+alcohol, so not much is left of the GMO and such
(I think)...

Well Im not an expert, but I noticed that my belly is way more nice looking if I can avoid gluten and I love gluten free beer, makes me feel like superman!

/FF

the beer i mentioned doesnt have surups is all naturally fermented gluten free. are you copyn and pasting the gf website on how to distill beer bc you sounded like you “knew”? hahahah youre funny

Uhm, okay, I see, you are right they probably do it in some other way... ;)

But you don't "distill" beer, and the malt they use can come as a syrup...


image source:midwestsupplies.com/simply-beer-brewing-starter-kit

The big ol bottle saying malt is in "syrup form", fluid (most likely containing gluten)...

And "distill" thats for makin shine, as been done here in
the backwoods of the internet, beer is something you brew...

=)

/FF

i meant to say fermented

Im going to make my own DIY beer now...
Its fun!

/FF

yay you ... hope it works out.

This must have been such a cool experience to have while volunteering! I would certainly like to give that 100% gluten free beer a try! Small breweries are just awesome!

it really was! pleasant surprise too. its soooo goooddd hehe

They need a Fat Bruni's IPA 🤣🤣🤣🤣

LOL why Bruni???

That's my name.

LOLzzzzzz omggg

see i call you WW, The Wonder, The Wop ... bruni seems so i dunno hahaha

You can call me anything, as long as you just call me. 🤣

What a cool experience to share. That just looks like too much fun.

I don't drink, but I'm going to tell my brother Randy, who is not fat but loves craft beers, about it. He has to go to Colorado a couple of times a year on business...

If nothing else, I'm sure he'd buy a 4 pack for display purposes.

Thanks for a wonderful share!

bahaha “Randy who isnt fat” hahaha
yeah interesting to see if he likes it.

@eaglespirit Oh no! This was the last resteem of your Resteem Subscription! Please consider extending your subscription if you enjoy my service! (or delegate 20 SP and reply to this message) Thanks!   =)

how cool! :) LOL

!gif she said !pancake !!

!pancakes


Thanks for contacting Pancakes Express!

Would you like to order pancakes?

Please upvote this comment with your order:

UpvoteOrder
$0.01+random delicious pancake
$0.05+excellent pancakes suited for a king or queen
$0.25+party pancakes
$1+best pancakes we have ever made
$?it's ninja!

If you would like to order your own pancakes, just make a comment !pancakes anywhere on the blockchain and we will send you a menu.

i sent you pancakes and popcorn :p

You are making me !gif fat..

Let's see what my friends think..

@cleverbot am I fat?
@banjo am I fat?
@automation am I fat?

banjo is always so snarky lol
they allrefused to answer .. notice?

!gif smart

Well that sounds like a good thing. i'm amazed you remember me out of all your friiends.

You are that technologically advanced?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Eagle Spirit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love small Brewers. I always think that my husband could be happy if he had micro brewery. What a bonus for you to find gluten free beer . doesn't seem like a bad way to pass the time

Posted using Partiko Android

IKR! this one in particular is healthy and delish. thank you for coming by and giving some River love 🤗💜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66