Tri-Blog #004 It´s a swim thing

So, even swimming is the smallest part of a triathlon, I really enjoy it a lot. When I was a kid I was swimming on a regular basis and went to a course for about 2 years as far as I can remember. I think I was around 7 years or something. The highlight was the 24 hour race once a year where you could have slept on the floor and of course as a kid it was amazing to stay awake as long as you wanted and go swimming in the middle of the night. Beside that, there were tons of whippet cookies for a few cents allllllll day and night. 24 hour races, I miss you so much.



Now I started swimming after 25 years again (in the legendary Tauris where the Taurisman will happen - still LOL) and the first kilometers were just a nightmare. I thought I could go with the pack (in training) but I was exhausted after the very first minutes. Well, I kept training now for FIVE weeks with the guys and TODAY was the first day I was able to keep the pace with the others for 50 minutes. Then I had to take a break for 50 meters...

There is a lot of technics going on with all different styles of swimming, intervals and of course we have a coach (Stefan - if you ever read this: THANK YOU FOR HELPING ME!!!). 

Today was a good day for me and while I heard most people are scared of the swim in a triathlon, I can´t wait to go out there.  While this year will be two olympic distances, I feel super comfortable with 1.5km, and my body is getting used to jump out of the water after training without feeling dizzy (the first time 5 weeks ago I almost choked myself out - I tapped! I almost threw up...sick).

So today, 2.5km of technics in about one hour...wicked (for me)!

All together I swam about 17km this year and building up steady. Feels great right now :) 


I bought a used neo on eBay today, too. Aqua Sphere Racer, Size ML...whatever it is, I hope I did a decent choice.

So my advice for all beginners after 5 weeks: I think I would have lost motivation, wasted time and would not progress so much (yeah, for me it is a lot) without being in a club where we have that coach. It is almost impossible to learn that stuff by youtube because you simply need somebody to tell you what you can do better. Long arms, ass up, head down, slower legs....Stefan gave me about 100 good inputs in just 5 weeks. So, if you ever read this blog because you are starting this sport: GET INTO A CLUB WITH A COACH! It will safe time in the race and it will safe a lot of time in training!


See you soon!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68225.97
ETH 3275.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66