From Zero to Hero - Beginners triathlon blog/diary #001

in #triathlon6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hey guys,

my name is Phil (32), father of two girls, an amazing wife, a french bulldog, building a house atm and so on.

After playing ice hockey from the age of three (yeah, 3) to about 15 I got in touch with my buddies in the skate park. If you know the movie "Kids", we lived that movie...so no more sports and tons of bad things for the body (smoking, drinking and other substances). I was lucky in key situations, my wife, my kids they saved my life I think. My lifestyle didn´t change that much and 2 years ago I thought I had to change it and wanted to do sports. I love the mountains and I started climbing. 

For 45 minutes.....then my meniscus popped out and I had to go to the hospital, surgery, 2 months no walk...I was pissed and couldn´t motivate myself to get in shape after that but now it is time! 2 years later...

THE story of triathlon

At January, 1st 2018 I stopped smoking. 3 days later I bought myself a bike.

I rode it for a few weeks at freezing temperatures and it was a lot of fun, even if my pace was (still is) super bad. I thought I need a challenge and ask google if there are any races where an idiot like me can participate. I found a few and was stoked. I found more and was more stoked...and suddenly I found a race that was called "Taurisman". 

Honestly, when I read the name I thought "WTF is this shit???" I found out that there is a sport called triathlon where you have to swim, bike and run. When I was young I was in a swimming club where they had 24h races once a year. I can remember that pretty good and it was always a lot of fun. I think I quit that at about ten years old, but I was familiar with water and I feel pretty safe. Well, running...I ran 13 years almost every day before and/or after training hockey. So I asked google for triathlon (it wasn´t on my radar, I knew almost nothing about it) and found a lot of information about it. I started to like it and got in touch with the club that organizes the "Taurisman" (I still think it sounds super ugly). Anyway, I was invited to a swim session at the pool and went there. Well...I talked a bit with the guys there, asked tons of questions and now I think I fell in love with that sport. And I entered the club that organizes the legendary "Taurisman" (a Sprint starting at the pool that is called Tauris).

I brought back my bike to the store meanwhile...

...to buy a new one.

(Thanks to crypto BTW, big up to everyone posting knowledge in here!!)

Now I do my best to get as good as possible from scratch and THIS is my storyboard. I am willing to learn a lot, so if YOU have knowledge you want to share, I would be super happy to know your thoughts. Main reason to do this blog is to keep track and hopefully look back to this one day and see a progress.

That´s it for now, in the next one I will post what I did so far.

Have a great day everybody and get inspired. It feels amazing to start something far away from the comfort zone!


Follow me on Strava if you like, I follow back to kudovate you!

https://www.strava.com/athletes/27117028


P.S.:

This is just a diary from a guy, that likes to get in shape. This guy found triathlon as a cool opportunity to combine "shape", challenge and competition as he likes challenge and competition, too. Never mind, he is just a beginner that might makes mistakes. If YOU are experienced and passionated about the sport of triathlon your feedback is highly appreciated. 

 

Sort:  

Hello, I'm also starting my preparations for triathlon in a distance 1/2 IRONMAN. I will follow You to watch your progress :) Have a good day.

@sportsmoments Hey, I wish you tons of luck! I start with olympic distance this year, because there is no way I can run 20km with my knee in the next months. Again, tons of luck to you!!!

I've finished olympic distance last year with time 2:29 h :) I was in shock because I wanted to finish in less than 3h :)
Thank You and I wish the same for You, maybe we will meet one day in some triathlon competition :)

I want to go below 3h too 🤘 I follow your blog too! Gogogo!

I'm sure that You will, just keep it going ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65