Trial By Comics Star Wars Entry

in #trialbycomics6 years ago

Hello everyone!

Early morning for me because my kiddo woke up sick but there's no time like the present to post my entry to the Trial By Comics art contest. The theme this week is Star Wars.

I've been meaning to enter a Trial by Comics contest for a while now but only now got around to doing it. Sadly I'll only be able to make one entry this time around since I have so many commissions going but here ya go!

rey.png
I drew Rey (Daisy Ridley) from the most recent Star Wars movies. Trying to add the Jedi lightsaber colours all up in there and what not.

I was also encouraged to add the step by step process on how I got this drawing done. But first of all I should state that this drawing was done on photoshop using a Wacom Intuos pro tablet:

rey-sketch.jpg
First I start off with just sketching it out.

rey-flat.jpg
Then I add some very basic almost neutral toned flat colour just basically giving me a guideline of what colour goes where.

rey-roughshade.jpg
And then using a hard brush I slap on some very rough shadows and highlights. Just slap em down wherever they may go.

rey-blend.jpg
And then using the soft brush at 20-30% hardness, I start to blend all that roughness together so that it looks somewhat smooth with just a bit of texture thrown in there. Don't want the skin too smooth otherwise it starts looking weird. XD Yes I changed her nose because it wasn't the right shape and one of her eyes were like way bigger than the other so I had to fix that as well. All's well that ends well. Lol!

And also with any digital painting you eventually want to fade out your line work sketch that you drew previously and use shadows and highlights as your natural line art I guess is the best way to put it. I usually gradually decrease the opacity on my line art layer more and more as I go along until eventually it disappears completely and I don't need it anymore. That's what happened at this stage.

Now I probably should've included another step after this, and I always do this, but after that I use the multiply tool and using a warm grey tone I add more shadows, define the creases of her clothes, her eyelids, around her nose things like that. Finish her hair with a smaller brush to make it look like hair strands and then I slap down some colour dodge to make that blue glow come through. After everything is all said and done I play around with the brightness, the contrast and the saturation settings until I figure out what looks best. :D

I was never the best at these tutorial things. But hopefully that made some sort of sense. If not, I apologize. Lol. I'll try to do better next time.

What do you think! Any feedback is appreciated!

Until next time!

-Chelsea

Sort:  

Nice work, love the process walk through.

Thanks. I'm not the greatest at walk throughs but I try. XD

Semoga berhasil

great work.stars wars comics.nice one

Very nice. Lines are perfectly proportioned and you have a real sense of depth with the brushes. Admired!

Well done! I love seeing step by step how artists get to their final product. And her hair looks perfect, well done!

Superb work! :)

I love your composition on this one. I also draw portraits for the most part and love negative space but I find that a lot of my paintings come out a bit boring. Here you can see a visually interesting use of shape. You've got very spot on too! Will be following for more 😉

Thank you! I figured I should do something to fill the space behind her and since I added the blue glow I figured some sort of glowing blue shape would've been best xD there was a lot of playing around involved though before I was happy with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58