My entry for the "Trial by Comics" superheroes contest!

in #trialbycomics7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody,

my good friend Lars kommienezuspadt is having a comic art contest, check it out here!

The theme this week is "superheroes" and that alone was a great invitation for me to contribute some of my comic art.

So here it is, one of my all time favorites showing not one, not two but three of my all time favorite comic babes: Witchblade, Vampirella and Lady Death, hell yeah! :)

I inked this one during my "comic book years" and this particular piece was my first gig where I was inking over the pencils of the incredible comic artist Romano Molenaar. 

Romano was one of the most productive guys in comics back then, illustrating so many books at the same time. He massively worked for the famous Chaos! Comics, did a lot of stuff for Top Cow Studios and then joined DC Comics working on Batman, if I recall that correctly. The fastest penciler I've ever met with enormous skills for illustration and sequential art.

At this time, I was already producing my own comic books through my agency Nightfall Studios together with my best friend and fantastic illustrator Tom3k Schukalla. 

We were doing so many conventions at that time and got to know so many people in the German and international comic scene (the Comic Salon in Erlangen was THE biggest show as well as the Comic Action in the city of Essen).

While signing our books there, I got asked one day if I want to ink a variant cover for the comic magazine called Hit Comics.

They had Romano on board to do the pencils, me for the inks and Kais for the colors.

And there we had it, our first exclusive cover for the German comic market! 

(Months later it turned out that this would become not only a milestone for my personal career but also my breakthrough into the American comic business and my first major jobs as a freelance inker... more about this in the next posts here on Steemit)

I hope you all enjoy this one as much as I do.

And thanks to everyone for following, upvoting and resteeming my stuff here, it's truly appreciated.

Cheers,

Daniel 

Sort:  

Very nice. Good luck with the contest :)

sweet ink, man

Congratulations @danielkiessler! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Incredible work! Wish I could make art like this! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63986.43
ETH 2745.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66