Entry for "Trial by Comics" - Theme Star Trek - Mixed Media

in #trialbycomics6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for "Trial by Comics", a competition put on by @kommienezuspadt
The theme this week was "Star Trek".

I am generally doing something focusing around high contrast, so this was no exception. But the main reason I decided to do this style was because it fit too perfectly with a previous Queen Amidala piece of art I had done (I'll put that below for reference).

Most of it is done with black marker; at one point I used some black oil paint to try to get it a softer edge (i.e. the eye) but still achieve the same level of darkness. I actually had a little trouble because I used watercolor paper which was rougher in texture than I would have liked, it made blending of the graphite a bit more difficult.

1.jpg

Process shots:

IMG_20171213_242413885.jpg

IMG_20171213_243825488.jpg

IMG_20171213_010416851.jpg

IMG_20171215_152813861.jpg

IMG_20171215_160845790.jpg

IMG_20171215_162421143.jpg

IMG_20171215_170015302.jpg

This is the Queen Amidala one I referenced earlier, you can see how similar the style is:

U5drVnRh4zP1nVLqfjKxQWTP523K3eX_1680x8400.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to look at my art!

Please follow if you'd like to see more like this! Thanks!

Sort:  

Ahh shoot! Man, you keep elevating your game! Y u always impress!? This is just so sick! And I mean that in the best possible way.

I just watched Star Trek Beyond for the first time yesterday, so I immediately recognized Jaylah. The shading you did was astounding! The rough lines of the paper really lended itself to the whole piece. As always, your shadow work is amazing! Man, I'll follow whatever you teach in your Learn Art videos to the tee, because if I ever learn to shade like that, I'll be a very happy man. The cracks on the lips... man, those kinds of details really separate the good from the great. And you, my friend, are one of the great ones! I have no doubt that your audience here will pick up really fast, really soon! Superb job, brother!

Thanks! What did you think of the movie? Personally, it is my favorite out of all the new ones (but I liked the others a lot too) - something about finally seeing a new world was what got me exited for it. Plus I really did like the character of Jaylah.

I'm hoping to get paid some time in the next month or so and then I'm hoping to get a new camera so hopefully the videos will take off then. Right now it wouldn't matter anyway, I have 5 pieces of art I need to get done before xmas, yikes. I'm gonna have to buckle down for the next few weeks! I also get distracted doing art contests for steemit lol I'm working on a sloth that i'll post later today....

Honestly, I wasn't big on Star Trek when I watched the first and second films of the remake. I've never been much of a fan of any of the series, so I wasn't really into the reboot. I only ever liked it when I gave the new series, Star Trek: Discovery, a chance. I'm glad I got into it before I watched Beyond. Wouldn't have enjoyed it as much, I think.

The reboot became more enjoyable with every movie, didn't it? I guess Beyond ranks highest for me as well. Knowing Anton Yelchin has passed really put a damper on the experience though.

I saw the sloth and I've commented on it haha! Thanks for the surprise shout out, brother! :D I appreciate it! I know you're going to get everything done. Just focus. Always great to have work than none, right? Excited for your new camera!

man, I know - was a big fan of Yelchin in pretty much everything he had done; the whole thing was just unbelievable.
Have you watched the new tv series? I haven't yet, but curious what your thoughts are if you have.
Have you watched star wars yet?

Oh yeah, I'm surprised how much I enjoyed the new TV series. The characters are quite compelling, and the storylines are great. I've seen Trekkies have mixed reactions about it, but since I didn't watch any other Trek series, I have nothing to compare it to.

Funny you should ask that. I have watched it, and I'm actually writing a post about it as we speak. I hope I could post it by tomorrow haha! Have you seen it? I'm holding off on discussing it in case you haven't. But, I'm quite interested to hear your thoughts regarding it.

I have not watched it yet; it was on my radar. I have also not watched the old ones so maybe it would mean I would like the new one more. I thought it looked pretty good though. I'm currently going back through "The Office".

Have you heard they're rebooting it with the original cast? Talking about The Office US. I wonder how they would go about doing that and if it would have the same success. I was a big fan of that when Steve Carell was still the boss, but kind of dropped off a bit after he left.

Definitely give Discovery a shot. Up to now I think we have very similar preferences in terms of shows we watch haha!

I just saw the Office thing yesterday on imdb. I think it could do well again; it said Steve Carell isn't attached either. The season after he left was bad but I heard it rebounded after that.

I will check it out! I just started Jean Claude Van Johnson.

Wow! This has got to be one of your best works.

I actually had a little trouble because I used watercolor paper which was rougher in texture than I would have liked, it made blending of the graphite a bit more difficult.

Yeah, right! ;) You made it look easy, that's for sure. The texture of the watercolor paper is perfect for capturing the subtleties of the shadows here. And I love how the graphite and oil paint are working together here. All around great work - Good Luck in the competition!!

Thanks :) well, I guess I should say that in this case the paper was working against what I was trying to do lol It's funny because this is one of the "easiest" ones I've done (in terms of not having to deal with hair, etc) but I agree that it came out looking quite well, which just goes to show I think how important composition can be in the overall piece.

You nailed it this time! All of the elements came together just right. Are you going to frame it??

I think I might try to sell it at some point; my long term plan has been to setup a website to sell prints from and originals like this one - but I haven't done it yet. My other thought is I might post my art on the steem marketplace and maybe try to sell some original art through there.

Sounds like you have a plan. One day at a time right ☺

Super cool! I’m just going to follow you:)

Thanks, I'm glad you like it! Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66