You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hope is peed on by social media

in #trending6 years ago

Social media is mostly just a reflection of culture. We live in a time where everyone wants their trophy. I finished school I expect to be successful, but it doesn't stop there. One has to go out and make the success.

We don't just disagree we judge.

In some cases we are so focused on winning we quit valuing right and wrong.

Many are pleasure seeking instead of trying to find joy.

Personal responsibility and tolerance we discussed a lot in my childhood, but I don't hear much about it now.

It is reflected in those who come to SteemIt and want Steem to magically rain down on them.

Social media isn't the problem, we could do better with our Culture though.

Sort:  

I agree! Personal responsibility used to be a HUGE topic as I grew up. You did not dump trash out the window because it was YOUR trash to take care of. If you did messed up, own it and fix it. I still try to do this at work. If I know my procrastination or action lead to something negative, I apologize and try to fix it. Yep, I did it and now I will fix it. There are consequences but it is better to own that mistake.

I do not want to force people to behave like me, but I do wonder, did we lose the sense of "us" in our culture? When I go out and talk with people, I find diversity but I do not see behavior like I do online. Does online impersonalize it so drastically that we lose the restraint we would show in person?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76