Don't Forget To Say 'I Love You'

in #trending7 years ago (edited)

There I was, just sitting around and scrolling through Facebook. I was mindlessly going through my timeline and seeing what my friends and family are up to. I didn’t expect to see anything too important, and I had decided to turn off my laptop so I could get something done. But then, I saw it. One of my friends had gotten a fortune that said “Don’t forget to say ‘I love you.’”

At face value, the reminder to say "I love you" is important. In a world full of hate, it is so important to let the people close to you know how much they mean to you. There's just something magical about hearing someone tell you that they love you. So, why wouldn't you want to spread that same feeling of joy to the people who are dearest to you?

But, showing someone you love them isn't always just about just telling them. Sometimes, it's the little things that speak louder than your words ever could. It's not always about the big gestures of love, either. Yes, days like Christmas, birthdays, and Valentine's Day are great because they are opportunities to do something large for the people you care about, but the small day-to-day acts of love can mean just as much.

Love means staying up with your friend when their heart is broken. Love is when your mother would take care of you when you were sick. It's about randomly texting an old friend to wish them luck on a big test or an interview. Love is when you really wanted to have that last piece of cake, but you still chose to give it to your brother/sister because you knew they wanted it really badly too. There are so many "little" things that happen each and every day that show love.

I don't want to sound morbid, but our time with our loved ones is too short. We aren't promised any tomorrows, so we have to make today count. We have to take time out of our busy schedules to make sure that people know just how much you love them. Even on your bad days and even on the days that the people you love just really tick you off. There are so many ways to show someone that you love them and such a large majority of the things you can do won't cost you any money at all. It only takes a few seconds to be kind, and you never know how much they might need the love.

Don't forget to say "I love you." Don't forget that everyone needs a little extra love now and then. And yes, loving other people is important, but don't forget to take time to love yourself too. So, hold the door for other people, give hugs, smile, and leave a positive impact on this world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44