How to get a post on Steemit Trending - What the data tells us

in #trending7 years ago

Failure to understand how the trending page works on Steemit and get my posts to the top, I have decided to look at some data to see what insights I can find out.

On 2nd Aug I scraped www.steemit.com/trending and I extracted 249 posts which I dumped into an Excel Spreadsheet.

The info that I scrapped gave me the post title, author, number of votes, the tag used and the payout value.

From this data alone, what can we establish?
In total 171 Authors have posts on the trending page scraped.

20% (51) of the posts on trending are made up of 7% (12 authors) of all authors on Trending. Below is a table showing the 20% of author sorted by the number of posts they created that is on the trending page.

DQmaSnKZSocWCWoMTidE2ea9gsgaD6JWnHLnkEfzN31kS5Z.png

Excluding negative votes, the minimum vote count for a post on Trend is only 27, however the max post count found on the posts on trending was 3678. Below is the top 12 authors based on the average vote count per post on trendingDQmNfb17vGhN4NnnGGDpyHDknq1zLfSxsXR6uGgwVF6akwN_1680x8400.png
Jerrybanfield, dollarvigilante and kingscrown are all in both the Authors with the most number of posts in trending and the highest average votes on a post.

And below is the bottom 10 based on average vote count

DQmfYejRw8gSoDrbpsQsXCJzFMJSb7UUm9ymLTJdHxyZLP6.png

On the payments side the average post payment is $161, the highest being $840 and lowest is $55. Who got the highest average post value? The table below shows the top 12 authors with posts on trending sorted by average pay out value.

DQmRid5oP1uw7F3RtquUD4ctZssBT3c8i2t2Np6SsSybCMR_1680x8400.png

Kingscrown is the only author that is now on the top of each report shown so far, 4 posts on the trending page, the average votes per post is in the top 12 and average payout is also in the top 12.

Other accounts that appear on two lists are Jerrybanfield, dollarvigilante, joshsigurdson, dan and bookingteam.com

And below is the bottom 10 authors with posts on the trending page sorted by lowest average pay out.

DQmdhELfuZP4NCKuEoLAgMNhSoKBZrKM6wyNbxiKn6nd3En.png
What is interesting about the lower 10’s is that many of these authors only have 1 post on trending

Next I had a look at the tags

First I sorted by the tag with the most number of trending posts
DQmfQzbWAwAdFW27mDWzauQHrsSRkPdHimUoZwmm7zb2RTC_1680x8400.png
Then by average number of votes
DQmTpApr9XKWHAxWffNbkZmr9ejogLaQYvtmxVxC1cFCnUj.png

And by average post value

DQmSSMDpq4KyrgH9heYcMNMS4ZSdDcy8aXu1xucPJUFiF1t_1680x8400.png

The only real trend here is that there are 4 tags that seem to do well in terms of hitting the trending page. Cn, Bitcoin, life and art. These are popular tags anyway so it would be expected to see a few posts from these tags on the trending page. But none of these are on the top average number of votes or average post value list. This is a good thing, well it seems the niches do well as the tags do seem to vary

I have still not got any close to finding out the magic secret on getting my post to trending. I know posts need to have between 27 and 3679 votes with a value of $55 and $840. To be honest this tells me nada.

But I have identified a few authors that might hold the secret so I think it’s time to mash this data up with data from the SteemitSQL Database and get some real insights.

Are you ready to see what I have uncovered?
First I connected to the TxVotes table, so I can see who is voting for these posts and for these top authors. The problem I faced here was that the data I scraped from the web has no common field with the TXVotes data.

To overcome this, I needed to also connect to the Comments table, as this table contains the post title, and my web scraped data also has this field. So I merged the TXVotes table with the comments table based on the permalink field to pull in the post title to the TXVotes table.

Now I have data I can work with…(I love this stuff!!!)

Who are voting for the Authors with posts on the trending page? Are there any patterns or people in common?
DQmSqaspYZvGgN6G8TZUDnsgQdQZ2rVtc1z9VQqf9gZE767.png
Above is a network chart. The colour dots represent authors on the trending page. The grey dots with the black text represent the voters. It’s obvious from this visualisation that there are a number of accounts standing out as a common voter on many posts on the trending page.

Zooming in a little so you can make out some names. We are looking in particular the name in the black as these accounts seem to be voting on a number of trending post authors
DQmSqaspYZvGgN6G8TZUDnsgQdQZ2rVtc1z9VQqf9gZE767.png

How to get a post on Steemit Trending - What the data tells us
paulag (65) in steemit • 7 months ago
Failure to understand how the trending page works on Steemit and get my posts to the top, I have decided to look at some data to see what insights I can find out.

On 2nd Aug I scraped www.steemit.com/trending and I extracted 249 posts which I dumped into an Excel Spreadsheet.

The info that I scrapped gave me the post title, author, number of votes, the tag used and the payout value.

From this data alone, what can we establish?
In total 171 Authors have posts on the trending page scraped.

20% (51) of the posts on trending are made up of 7% (12 authors) of all authors on Trending. Below is a table showing the 20% of author sorted by the number of posts they created that is on the trending page.

Excluding negative votes, the minimum vote count for a post on Trend is only 27, however the max post count found on the posts on trending was 3678. Below is the top 12 authors based on the average vote count per post on trending

Jerrybanfield, dollarvigilante and kingscrown are all in both the Authors with the most number of posts in trending and the highest average votes on a post.

And below is the bottom 10 based on average vote count

On the payments side the average post payment is $161, the highest being $840 and lowest is $55. Who got the highest average post value? The table below shows the top 12 authors with posts on trending sorted by average pay out value.

Kingscrown is the only author that is now on the top of each report shown so far, 4 posts on the trending page, the average votes per post is in the top 12 and average payout is also in the top 12.

Other accounts that appear on two lists are Jerrybanfield, dollarvigilante, joshsigurdson, dan and bookingteam.com

And below is the bottom 10 authors with posts on the trending page sorted by lowest average pay out.

What is interesting about the lower 10’s is that many of these authors only have 1 post on trending

Next I had a look at the tags

First I sorted by the tag with the most number of trending posts

Then by average number of votes

And by average post value

The only real trend here is that there are 4 tags that seem to do well in terms of hitting the trending page. Cn, Bitcoin, life and art. These are popular tags anyway so it would be expected to see a few posts from these tags on the trending page. But none of these are on the top average number of votes or average post value list. This is a good thing, well it seems the niches do well as the tags do seem to vary

I have still not got any close to finding out the magic secret on getting my post to trending. I know posts need to have between 27 and 3679 votes with a value of $55 and $840. To be honest this tells me nada.

But I have identified a few authors that might hold the secret so I think it’s time to mash this data up with data from the SteemitSQL Database and get some real insights.

Are you ready to see what I have uncovered?
First I connected to the TxVotes table, so I can see who is voting for these posts and for these top authors. The problem I faced here was that the data I scraped from the web has no common field with the TXVotes data.

To overcome this, I needed to also connect to the Comments table, as this table contains the post title, and my web scraped data also has this field. So I merged the TXVotes table with the comments table based on the permalink field to pull in the post title to the TXVotes table.

Now I have data I can work with…(I love this stuff!!!)

Who are voting for the Authors with posts on the trending page? Are there any patterns or people in common?

Above is a network chart. The colour dots represent authors on the trending page. The grey dots with the black text represent the voters. It’s obvious from this visualisation that there are a number of accounts standing out as a common voter on many posts on the trending page.

Zooming in a little so you can make out some names. We are looking in particular the name in the black as these accounts seem to be voting on a number of trending post authors

I looked at some of these accounts in black….noting interesting really. They might even be voting bots. There are new accounts and have not been delegated any Steem power by anyone (I feel like an investigation journalist looking for something sinister.)

Trending posts and votes from Whales
I have also taken a look at the voting relationship between the Authors on the trending page and the top 250 Whales. To do this I needed to add a new table to my data set. So I have scraped data for the top 250 whales from https://steemwhales.com and added this to my data set.
DQmTynoXNem6gAVwQZzjmTFAB6d1KK5SFTVpaKjg53ehwVJ.png
It is very interesting to observe that the authors with the most posts on the trending page seems to get a number of votes from other whales…………..

In total there were 66875 votes on the 249 trending posts. Of this 1907 was a vote from a Whale in the top 250 whales. That’s 3% of total votes on trending posts. And averages out at 7.6 whale votes per post on trending page. So who is getting above that average?
DQmTD6pLt4TeND2idnFHvhLu9T1A9nrKEaj55QQWdKFiVAT_1680x8400.png
On the bottom, it is interesting to see that some posts only have 1 whale vote and the lowest voting weight is 20%. This is interesting. I have a chance of getting a post to the trending page with 1 whale vote at 20%
DQmVvSG6NDusLCmWBPAdBNnEFc6BdZf76yVBUqRJnyRbvEH.png
I also took a look at the whales that were voting and at what % there are voting on trending posts. The average voting weight is just 50% although there are a considerable number of whales voting for trending posts at 100%
DQmSyow66zS1nzFAxyu7C8H8oe57PXutCuodbFLE31sGuLb_1680x8400.png
Conclusion

The charts and data I have shown are only part of the analysis I carried out to see how to get a post on the trending page. What I have established is that the value of a post is of utmost importance.

In order to get value quickly you need to rely on votes from whales. We have seen that a number of authors have a few posts on the trending page, and tend to trend on a regular basis. Well know I know why. It is these same authors that are getting high volumes of whale votes.

Can us minnows compete with that and get a place on the trending page? Highly unlikely. Unless of course Steemit changes the way the Trending page works.

I also found some other stuff during this analysis that I have not shared. The reason, well if I am write, or wrong, playing the name or shame game will only get me down voted ( I don’t like down vote bullies). I found a Whale voting accounts that seem odd to me. Seem funded and seem to be voting for the same 4 authors on trending time and time again.
A big thanks to @furion for steemdata and @heimindanger for steemwhales.com

If you enjoyed this post please do follow me, I post on Excel, PowerBI, Business Intelligence, Steemit, Data, Stats and other things of interest

here is a full list of authors with a post on trending as I scraped on the 2nd Aug

dan kingscrown keiserreport officialfuzzy rea penguinpablo oflyhigh bookingteam.com jerrybanfield frostedace joseph kevinwong deanliu modprobe gavvet joshsigurdson dollarvigilante b0y2k zararina someone crypticwyrm steemcleaners jphenderson anarchospace sirlunchthehost witness-category buildteam kyriacos rivalhw steemdevelopers slowwalker jayjayjeffery myfirst kencode oldstone schmid donkeypong sebi99p oldtimer sndbox hilarski minnowbooster lukestokes awgbibb patelincho sportspodium canadian-coconut helene madiba ericvancewalton dragonslayer krystle dianargent stacee rheteric marty-arts jubi cherryblossom-sa siddartha nicolemoker mylifeasgoda birds clayton senzenfrenz crazymumzysa barrysamways laniakea xxsenpaixsamaxx btsabc onceuponatime walterz scoop pharesim steemtruth sallyswitchblade agmalirsadi cervantes bigdaddy isaria blackbunny natureofbeing jameslashomb kjablonski jrcornel sirwinchester nexusfyre hannahwu elfkitchen ocd phelimint papa-pepper crypt wledge anna.art.time stan ashleynau steemit jacor atulmittal stellabelle voronoi sgtreport mindhunter fathin-shihab krnel full-steem-ahead schattenjaeger in strawhat chitty amylee kus-knee travelman cqf nerdfury ramengirl jenniferhosein justincottle nanzo-scoop frostfractal artguru timcliff cahlenlee yyyy paulie2coins steem2themoon aggroed sammosk bestofbest leesunmoo jeffberwick cryptoqu33n surfermarly allasyummyfood tribedownsouth lydiachan abdullar gardenofeden woz.software mynameisbrian hansikhouse bitcoinflood buzzbeergeek gringalicious joythewanderer sixexgames justyy teamsteem vitkolesnik rockchickjen justmousepixels jfollas suesa tygergamer gamerpool charlieshrem anritco kitcat stackin ana-edwards clayop htooms birds90 steemdice1 wony steemsports coldhair kafkanarchy markwhittam lemooljiang sweetsssj

Sort:  

Oh nice... It's a great post.... I really love your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.73
ETH 2525.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47