Maybe this shouldn't have been my first post

in #trending6 years ago (edited)

lazyone_cat.jpg

Dear humans of this world,

Help me with an existential dilemma.

Please explain this to me so I could understand. Why all comments to an article here are like kissing someone's butt.

Let's see some comments:

"Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I believe in persistence too. Great video."

"Helpful tips, thanks!"

"absolutely right brother. thanks"

"Yes... it's really awesome"

"Helpful things. Good job!:D"

Should I go on?

Most of the comments are like kissing someone's behind. I am skimming through comments, reading diagonally in order to find a useful comment, maybe I could learn something from it? If most of the comments are like this everything looks fake, like a robot posted those comments.

Ok so I kind of understand that maybe you all here are very positive and don't want to criticise but can you at least say what you learned from the article? Please!

And then maybe you have other ideas to add to the post? Maybe you argue with other's ideas still keeping it positive.

I would even appreciate comments without connection to the post's topic like "I like your hair".

I am happy that you liked the article but maybe if you really really want that ... then maybe steeemit team should add a `I like the article very much, I am crazy about the topic and the person who wrote it!" button and then those of us who really do that may press that button thousands of times and be happy.

So my dear friends, enlighten me on why there's so much "you are great, I love that topic" comments and if it is possible to get rid of all of those unreal comments. Maybe such comments should get zero dollars.

I would write more but there's not an abundance of ideas in this post and I also got tired writing it,
I wish you a lovely evening!

Forgot to tell you, I am a lazy cat sleeping on a hard drive, dreaming zeros and ones.
@lazyone, the cat

Sort:  

Well think about it this way,

Steemit is a website where your persona makes you real coldhard cash. An upvote isn't just an upvote. It's reputation, power and potential followers. The situation here reminds me of that black mirror episode where the everyone was rating each other.
Basically you're trying to impress whales, but most people tend to think that as long as they are commenting they are doing something. I mean they are, but that doesn't mean it's adding anything of value.
You see the word reputation and think that it means being the greatest person ever.

I'm not saying it's great that the site functions like this right now, but I get it. Think of it as a game, figure out how to play it. If you don't that's fine and maybe this post will(in a weird sort of way) help some people play the game better.

Maybe it is a game but it would be helpful for all to also express an idea right? Otherwise we will get bored after a while, like we get bored of all games.

I am not saying we should not say we like an article. But we should not say just that. We should add more, say why we like it at least.

In fact I will say like the others:

Thank you for your comment!

and sorry if I can't see the whole picture yet, I am new to this and probably the truth is somewhere in the middle. Everybody has it's own truth, maybe greater truth is a mix of all truths?

I don't know, I'm just saying.

Spam is a necessity, even in games. Feel free to quote me :P

I'm not saying that comments should be a circle jerk and, sometimes, on this site especially, they are.
What I'm saying is that people who play the game like that probably won't get very far, but they'll stop playing like that once they figure out it isn't working.
If a comment doesn't acctually hold any content, i'm not inclined to interact with it.
If I want to comment on it, if it's in a positive light, then I'll upvote it and I think that eventuelly most people will do the same.

No one has a genuine reaction to "Nice post"

Give people time to be real.

Great post, keep up the good work!
I do like your furry hair.

( It is my lovely winter fur that I use when I sleep on hard drives. Thank you for your great appreciation to my great post! )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51