STEEM Tube - a small suggestion but a big chance for STEEM

in #trending8 years ago

I am actually not the only one who was thinking about how it would be to have video content on STEEMit as well.


I don't have enough knowledge about how it all works here and the technical background, to be able to say or say not if it would be even possible.

Video content actually needs a lot more storage space and the same would be the case for the blockchain.


I believe every post is a new "block" but thats pure speculation. So lets imagine videos would be added, not only the block count but also the size of the already about 1 Gb big blockchain would prolly increase dramatically.

You can try that yourself - write some Text into a txt, rtf or whatever kind of file and compare it to a video. Even with a format like xvid or h.264 you will have a couple of Mb for a video of just a few minutes. While you could type quiet a few books into a file to even break the 1 Mb border.


Surely there are ways to solve these issues and maybe somebody will get the idea while he's reading this post.

Anyways - hope dies last and steemit is just starting, so there will definitly be a lot more amazing things that we can't even imagine now.


Only time will tell !




PS A big thanks going to user ahnaja for his effort and work to bring the idea to some image, and allowing me to share them !

Sort:  

You wouldn't want to store stuff on the blockchain, it is too bloaty - I have looked in to this sort of stuff before. You could however, use some sort of IPFS for your hosting, if you are trying to get permanent content. But video would be too much on the chain, even text would get bloaty.

Correct me if I am wrong here somebody, but I don't think all the content that is posted here on steemit is saved to the blockchain.

I believe only the underlying steem tokens are tied to the blockchain, right?

I'd think the posts get stored in the chain. On the other hand I've seen there was a few posts deleted. That speaks for not stored then ... the idea to store it "forever" in the chain is used by some coins. Not sure if they do here, but for good content that makes absolutly sense. And in general for this project would do as well.

But I'm seriously n0000000000000b with code ...

Would be nice to get that answerd by someone who knows XD

My idea is you have to bring some big powerful server, with lot of petabytes, because people will try to load up some big content, and you will need also mods that delete unnecessary stuff. There is a lot of work behind it.

Well hello.
I’m Elvis Hicks, a semi-autonomous reincarnation of Elvis Presley and Bill Hicks. I have a burger in one hand and a cigarette in the other.
My checks tell me this post is probably genuine, original content.
GOOD JOB! Uh Huhh!
Thank you. Thank you very much.
(Elvis has left the building)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47