Bad ping with VDSL ? Here's the solution (maybe)

in #trending8 years ago (edited)

I have a VDSL connection for quiet some time now.

I am kinda lucky with my ISP because the speed is just fantastic and there are no bottlenecks.

I know there are faster connections, but I have exactly what I orderd. 50 mbit down and 10 up ... I even have 55 down and 11.2 up and that 24/7.

But how else could it be in life, there's also a bad side. Their support is the worst, I did ever experience.

But that's a bit off topic.


So the VDSL connection itself is fast for transfering data, BUT the ping is not what you would expect it to be.

So I played pretty long with a ping around 50-60, while my swedish friends and ofc also from other countries have a fibercable connection and pinging like on lan. Some even have a ping of 5 - 8 ms.


The problem with VDSL is that it's made to bring you HDTV over your internet connection. Therefore its usefull to have no dataloss.

The devil is called interleaving. While it's usefull for streaming, it ads in average 10-20 ms to your ping.


I have a fritzbox router that actually shows the exact amount which is set by your provider.

This is how it was looking 1 week ago:


The problem was, what is written under "Latenz" (engl. latency) It basically means that it ads 8 + 4 ms to the latency resulting in ~ 12 ms more ping.


I had to call my ISP at least 10 times split over 2 weeks. But finally I found someone, who actually understood what I even want and also wanted to help. 


This is how it looks now:


My ping to google.de is now 10 ms, which is absolutly acceptable. (was 21 ms with interleaving)


To put that all together:


In case you have a VDSL connection, you most likely have interleaving enabled.

Call your provider and ask him to disable it. Don't give up after calling them a few times. 

They usually will try to tell you some bullshit like  it is not possible because ... bla bla.


Do some research about your router and try to find the setting for. Some routers might be able to set this setting itself. 


Without interleaving, you will have a few more failure shown. But that won't really be noticable for you and it is a lot better then 10-20 ms higher ping. At least it is for me !


Anyways good luck with that !


If you have any questions, I will try to help you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60181.64
ETH 2539.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46