The GTD Approach To Maximizing Productivity With Trello

in #trello7 years ago

Every once in awhile, you stumble on a combination of things that go so well together, you wonder how you ever had one without the other, like peanut butter and chocolate. Trello and Getting Things Done are like that—two great ideas that complement each other perfectly!

Trello

Want to try Trello? Get it for free!

Learn how you can use Trello to implement Getting Things Done, and clarify and process all the “stuff” that you are trying to accomplish in your work and personal life.

What Is The ‘Getting Things Done’ Framework?

“Getting Things Done” (often abbreviated as GTD) is a popular and effective method for work and time management. Laid out by productivity consultant David Allen in a 2001 bestseller, GTD has developed a cult following. Being a habitual procrastinator myself (who has always struggled with focus and prioritization), I found GTD incredibly compelling and relevant to how I work.

If you aren’t already familiar with Getting Things Done I recommend reading Allen’s book. The key part of GTD that I wanted to implement was having a clear protocol for how to get all the stuff I needed to take care of out of my head and into an organized place where I could avoid distraction and focus on execution. In GTD terminology, these are the “Collect,” “Process,” and “Organize” stages.

Want to try Trello? Get it for free!

Implementing GTD In Trello

GTD on its own is simply a set of ideas laid out in a book. It’s not actually a piece of software or anything else tangible. For many years I didn’t find a good system for actually implementing it. I tried Notepad, Microsoft OneNote, Things, and many other software tools, none of which really succeeded in helping me work according to the GTD system.

Read more on Trello...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48