Tree Tuesday - Crack Willows at Lake Wakatipu, New Zealand

I took these photos last spring in Queenstown, New Zealand. There are many crack willow trees (Salix fragilis) that grow on the lake shore of Lake Wakatipu.

Whilst crack willows are not native to New Zealand, the climate in the south island in many ways is similar to the UK so many European trees thrive here.

The tree below is a large crack willow that has partially failed under its own weight but continued to grow and thrive. The trees is growing at the edge of the Queenstown Botanic Gardens which sets the backdrop for this image.

The tree line here are trees growing in the Queenstown Botanic Gardens and Cecil Peak can be seen in the background.

This view looks west along Lake Wakatipu, Walter Peak is in the distance.

Many crack willows adorn the lake front in Queenstown, providing amenity to the areas and making Queenstown a very attractive, green mountain town.

Another view of the large semi-cascading willow tree growing at the lake edge.

I hope you enjoyed my photos :)

Sort:  

Very nice completion of post! Loved the pictures and description. Resteemed.

Thanks for the resteem @video-master :)

When you shoot photos, are you shooting with the intention of possibly creating works of art from your photography? I like your compositions :)

Hey @spoofnix, yes, all my landscape photo reference is for potential landscape paintings. I often edit the photos I use and edit my photos for Steemit using my artistic eye :)

They are soooo paintable! )
Especially the 3rd one.
Can I use it for some of my paint studies, just in case? )

Hey @walperion, yeah sure, feel free to use any of my photos :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50