TreeTuesday; Parasite plant on Tree.

in #treetuesday6 years ago

TreeTuesday; Parasite plant on Tree.

IMG-0918.jpg
My wife and I went away for the weekend, and while I took a short stroll around the chalet we were staying in I noticed this beautiful green plant, at first glance it was looking like a tree!!
IMG-0923.jpg
It also had some fruit on it, I don't know if it is edible, but it did not look very appetizing though and I did not try to taste it.
IMG-0925-2-LI.jpg
At closer inspection, I could see that this plant was attached to a tree, see the photo above the part where I circled in yellow. This is where the plant ends and the donor tree starts. On the photo below you can see the tree on which it is growing.
IMG-0927.jpg
I saw a few dead trees in the vicinity, with the same type of blob, like the one, the parasite uses to attach itself to the donor tree, thus, I presume in the end the parasite, kills both itself and the donor tree. Not Nice!!

I took the photos with my iPhone, at Monateng Lodge, just North of Pretoria, South Africa.

I hope you enjoyed my post.

signature Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

@rynow,
Never see this tree in my country! Probably native to your region! Nice photography!

Cheers~

I agree, it is from here.

That looks like a kind of Mistletoe. Good thing you didn't try the fruits, because they are toxic. Dont eat what you dont know... :)

Good advice, I will definitely not eat something that I don't know, thank you for the nice comment.

Very beautiful photography. Nice shot @rynow. I like it.

Thank you.

Good choice not to eat it because you never know that it can be harmful

You are right!1

Nature always beauty to me...

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, beautiful and very interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83