Tree Tuesday: My Catalpa

in #treetuesday6 years ago

I have around 7-8 Catalpa (Indian Bean Trees) in the yard but they don't seem to bloom every year, they take turns. They get pods about a foot long that are full of seeds, and although the roots are poisonous, the bark and leaves have many medicinal properties.

A tea can be brewed from the bark that can be used as an antitoxin for snake bites. It is also effective as a natural antiseptic, a laxative, sedative and vermifuge (I had to look that one up- it kills intestinal parasites such as tapeworms). It can also used as a substitute for quinine to treat malaria- I'll try it the next flare-up I get.

The leaves can be ground into a poultice to treat wounds and abrasions.

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

They are huge trees. As I understand it there are several varieties of mosquitos that are carrying different diseases this year. Start scraping that bark ASAP. Lol. 🐓🐓

I already have malaria, so the next flare-up I get...

This look really medicinal I will have to look up Nigerian name for it look for the especially as it is an antitoxin for snake. Thanks for sharing.

Do you have them there?

It looks to have many useful medicinal properties, good to know! Hugs t you and Bruno, dear friend ^_^

I had no idea, I was looking up to see when they blossom and found all of that.

Could it be the quick change of weather as to why they dont bloom? Rich ever drunk the tea from that bark?

Not yet, but I'll try it the next time my malaria kicks up (or I get bit by a snake)

The more often we see the things around us - even the beautiful and wonderful things - the more they become invisible to us. That is why we often take for granted the beauty of this world: the flowers, the trees, the birds, the clouds - even those we love. Because we see things so often, we see them less and less.
Btw i also a nature lover man .
It really pleasure to me to see your post .
Carry on @richq11

how does one apply the tea for snake bites?

I'm gonna go way out on a limb here and say that because it's tea you drink it to neutralize the effects of the venom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59