Overcoming life's hurts!steemCreated with Sketch.

IMG_8811.JPG

This is a story about the battle of survival in this world!

A post also to be placed in #treetuesday hosted by @old-guy-photos

So many of us bear the scars of life's hurts. Be it physical or emotional, or even both. Our bones broken in many cases and our hearts ripped by abuse of some form.
Have a look at this stubborn tree that simply refuses to surrender, look at the struggles that it must have faced and then look how proudly it continues to show it's scarred beauty to the world.
This is mother nature's lesson for the day!

IMG_8813.JPG

Look how proudly this guy stands in defiance!

IMG_8812.JPG

Yes, haggard, but the secret lies in his roots!

IMG_8814.JPG

He beat the hurt at the top to reunite in splendor!

IMG_8815.JPG

The split sections are two arteries that feed his heart!

IMG_8816.JPG

And finally he even looks better than some other twisted trees!

Overcoming is the name of the game and many of us had to suffer some serious hurts. I for instance married young, had 3 small children and was smacked by a taxi on my motorbike while waiting at a traffic light. Not my fault, but I spent 3 months in hospital and 2 years in plaster. Many guys in my ward were more serious and some even died. Of course, my wife took up with her ex and we were divorced. Stupidly I got married again 7 days after the divorce to a lady that fancied me for a long time, but it also didn't last.

I was a rebel and had many fist fights in my time. Alcohol killed the hurts, but only for a while and my life was a mess. Been arrested a few times, but thankfully never jailed and hopped from one catastrophe to the next. Violence was extreme in the area where I lived and I saw many assaults and deaths. My kids were gone with their mother and I was pushed aside. My gran who was the mainstay in my life died when I was 13 years old and I had never recovered from her loss. Just a few mentions here of many ills in my destitute life.

But here's the thing. Just like this tree, I slowly, ever so slowly started to pick myself up. The parts of me that I always kept hidden started to reveal itself and gradually my life started to change. Although I hated school, I started to study and graduated with a degree in theology. Me? Everyone was amazed. Then I even became a preacher! This was God's wisdom as he wanted this wreck to teach other wrecks how to heal. Then I started a charity and miracles began to happen, as many poor people benefit from our work to this day.

The solution was simply my roots. My gran had taught me to love and she kindled the flame of kindness in my soul. I had no father and she was the anchor in my early life. Proudly and yet humbly I can stand today, just as the tree to show that I have overcome. And just like the tree, I show my hurts to everyone in the hope that they will also overcome.
Really a great lesson from nature here for all of us.

I hope you have gained something from this story by @papilloncharity

Thank you for visiting this post.

center>PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

The trees are still standing tall; despite the visual pain they may have been inflicted with. Humans are not that resilient.. we suffer loss, heartache and more and we crumble to the ground.

GREAT comparison!

So true Lady @goldendawne and I was trying to pass a message of hope on here.
Thank you for the kind comment,
Blessings!

The will to live, the will to grow is in each one of us. The minute you let go it is a slippery slope, this tree is a great lesson of life.

The tree could have let one half die off while the other survived, it decided to keep going to make a beautiful canopy above for all to take in.

Wow! I got goosies when I read this Lady Joan. The doctors battled for two years with my leg, as the thibia and tibia was completely shattered and after 6 operations of pinning and screwing it the gave the option, in fact insisted that my one half (leg) must be cut off, but I wouldn't sign. In the meantime my back and my neck had recovered and I just somehow knew that the leg would also make it.
And it did!
It's now lasted since 1980 and even though it's a bit shorter, my limp is almost unnoticeable.
Just like the tree, I also had a choice to make and it was the right one!
The tree can still open its arms for the birds to sit in its shade and so can I open my heart to help others.
Selah

Beautiful photos!!!

Beautifully said! Nature has many lessons to teach us.
I'm so happy that your life turned around and you overcame so many adversities to come to the place you are now with your charity and the miracles that come about because of it!

Thank you my friend my charity work is the healing power in my life. As I help others, just so I am helping the little boy inside of me. a naughty little bugger, but I know all of his tricks and I keep a tight rein on him hahaha.
It is all to the glory of the bigger power, our Lord that leads us.
Blessings!

Happy helping and healing! Naughty boy and all!

Proudly and yet humbly I can stand today, just as the tree to show that I have overcome. And just like the tree, I show my hurts to everyone in the hope that they will also overcome.

Simple statement, yet at the same time such a difficult thing to do. Thank you for sharing your struggles, and the beautifully inspiring photos, with us, @papilloncharity. Brightest of blessings to you. 💜

Thank you for the kind and loving comment Lady @traciyork!
My hope was to inspire other hurting souls with this post.
Blessings also to you!

What a beautiful story. I love your vision, and I'm so glad you're here, shining your heart light for humanity ♥

Thank you for the lovely comment my friend.
And your kind words are sincerely appreciated.
Blessings!

WOW that tree is amazing and from what you have shared with us so are you, fromthe first photo I thought the tree was struggling, but it has overcome its hurt and grown into such a beautiful tree

and that does compare with you, you had your hurts and troubles but look at you now and all you do for others blessign my friend

Thank you for the kind words my friend, but there are others that have tread worse paths than me and my hope is that they would read this post and come out with stories of their own.
The only way to healing is to expose the things that entrap you in a life of misery. It brings great relief to hang out one's secrets. Once it's out it is gone and the mind can receive new realities, without the insecurities stained by the subconscious!
We all have skeletons in our closets, dead bones that wreck our thoughts.
Get rid of them by exposing them and set yourself free. You deserve love and kindness in your life and if you cannot get it, then become it.
Just my simple way in life!
Blessings!

Simple but profound and good way of life,
Yes many have had worse hardships and through my travels and work I have seen places where hardship is the norm, that makes me appreciate how lucky i have been and ho fortunate I am

So true my friend! So true!
Blessings!

Amazing tree! Such a big cleft.
Your story is amazing. Thanks for sharing. Very difficult path.

Thank you Lady Elena and it is the difficult paths that make us stronger!Blessings!

Love this post. Great lesson from nature.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you my friend and glad that you appreciated the message.
We always think our troubles are the worst, but there are many out there that face much worse.
In our charity work we encounter some terrible cases and many tears when we show them love and compassion. Of course we go out of our way to help them.

Also a great thank you for all that you do to help our charity work!
Blessings to you my friend.

Thanks for sharing your story and also that amazing tree! What a life lesson for us all!

Be well.

Thank you Sir and it was my pleasure to share.
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93