Tree Tuesday: Pollard Willow in Spring

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

Very Dutch scene, this; Van Gogh* painted quite a few of these before he went to France:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 35m, ISO100, f8, 1/180s

The willows are cut back (pollarded) every few years and grow new twigs that are used for plaiting baskets and other wickerwork.

These old, gnarled willows sometimes host other life, like this one with ground-ivy (Glechoma hederacea), hondsdraf in Dutch, growing on it:


Olympus Stylus 1s, 35m, ISO100, f5.6, 1/180s

Thanks for watching!

* No, those last two letters in "Van Gogh" are not pronounced as "f", you silly Anglo-Saxons. And no, Van Gogh was a Dutch painter, not a French painter, you silly Frenchies.

Sort:  

Beautiful scenes and yes, I can image Van Gogh while he was painting some of them! I love Van Gogh, but I have to say that Dutch land gave us so many wonderful artists!!! ^_^

This old guy still going strong. Water close underneath to keep it alive.

Awesome Very Dutch scene photography and natural picture i appreciate this art. thanks for sharing

It's like the sun shine in every direction! Strong bones!

Love the compositional lines created by the roots. Well seen and captured.

Thank you.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 19 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

very beautiful photography lets see how beautiful nature is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64432.28
ETH 2648.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78