Sort:  

I remember when this happened. I guess the driver had to swim for it.

Welcome to Steemit, Craig!

It was weird. He was driving to the pub car park and didn't notice the water rising around him.
I'd love to have seen the insurance claim form lol
What would you say? ;)

We see it happen time and again here in the States. Known flooded areas get rebuilt. In fact the rebuilding in usual flood areas was driving up the cost of flood insurance for those less likely to flood areas.

I know, it's a crazy setup. They keep giving permission to build on these areas knowing this will happen.
Often the insurance companies refuse to pay out? But they knew the risk and the premiums and like you say. We all end up with the bills.

That poor car! How long did it rain for the waters to rise so high all over? I'm glad that I live in the central part of Oahu because with climate change, the sea waters are encroaching on the island. Thank-you for sharing. It is always fun to see pictures of England!

That car was brand new £50,000!
The water rose in minutes. We had a massive downpour and it just had nowhere to go.

Oh my goodness! That is expensive!

Wow, that is really flooded! The trees look absolutely gorgeous though! Was your house okay?

We were fine. We live on a high piece of ground. I chose the house because it was on the high ground.
Most people don't even think about these things when they get a house.
I suppose they assume it's fine.

That was very smart thinking!

I am sorry for the people affected by the flood but I must say that it made for some fantastic photos. The last one is my favorite. That poor car. We have a saying here for driving in water because you can't know how deep it is. "Turn around. Don't drown." I guess the owner of that car never got this message.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67586.04
ETH 3509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14