Tree Tuesday: Redwood Love

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

The massive roots of this redwood look as though it could be a home. I imagined making a den there, curling up with a blanket to spend a night guarded by this ancient tree.

redwood tree

The tree to the right is a "normal" sized full-grown tree, but it looked like a baby compared to the giants around.

redwood tree

Redwood forests once stretched across much of California, but are now relatively small areas. I do not for the life of me understand how people can be so greedy as to cut down so many of these magnificent trees, but then, I don't understand human greed anyway, so I'll not press the point.

All I know is when I'm with these trees, I am filled with the feeling of peace, of serenity. I am convinced they are sentient beings, and that we can communicate with them on subtle levels. (Yes, I talk to trees.)

Have you hugged a tree today?


Hugging trees has many benefits. In my experience (and I've heard this from others in person and via written word), taking time to hug a tree can lower stress levels and bring a sense of overall wellbeing.

Touching trees also helps bring the energy of the earth into your body, just like walking barefoot. Getting "grounded" in these ways can have positive effects on physical and emotional health.

So get outside, walk barefoot, or give a tree a hug! See if it makes you feel good. It always does for me. :)

hug
All photos mine.

Kudos to @old-guy-photos for creating #TreeTuesday!


Thanks for reading!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

#teamcanada #steemusa #steemsugars #thealliance

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
Banner courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

the alliance

steemusa

The Alliance and SteemUSA Banners by @bearone

Sort:  

Beautiful trees Katrina. Some day I will come to California to see them! :-)

They're so beautiful! Awe inspiring. I hope you do get a chance to see them. It's been years since I've been to visit these trees, but I hope this summer, or next, to take my kids there. :)

People are going to look at me funny when I go hug a tree. ;)

People look at me funny all the time. Hug away! ;)

this made me miss California. Big Sur. Hiking a day to the hotsprings. Spending hours surrounded by giant redwoods and running creeks. Big ol beauitful trees. Even the ones that had fallen were majestic.

Oh! Big Sur. Yes. Everything you said here.

Even the ones that had fallen were majestic.

This is so true! Hope you get back to Cali for a visit sometime. :)

I have never seen trees this big. Even with that last picture I can't even really comprehend the scale. Whoaaa.

It's mind blowing, really. Even having been to these trees several times I'm in a constant state of awe when I return.

I can imagine! The idea alone: they've survived many generations of us humans, and are still standing up straight <3

I've only seen Redwood Trees in photos but would love to see one in person and give it a hug!! Yep! I'm a tree hugger too!! ;)

Yay for tree-huggers!!!

I love redwoods! Not many things can make you feel so small yet so powerful! Truly magnificent!

^^ This is so true! And yes, the are magnificent.

Wow that’s an impressive tree and root system

Right? I'm still in awe of it. One of these years I'll get back there.

I can see why it’s amazing

I must admit that those trees and their cavities look like perfect getaway places, absolutely beautiful!

This whole forest is an amazing getaway. :) Thanks for stopping by!

They dont look too big until you see a person for scale!

wow, amazing nature, and I also love grounding myself, it has so many benefits

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67