Mountain biking at Croft State Park

in #treetuesday6 years ago

12716916_213279385693784_2030438399_n.jpg

It’s #treetuesday and #trailtuesday, so what better day to share this GoPro shot from a recent ride on the Southside Loop Trail at Croft State Park near Spartanburg, SC. We are lucky to have many great places to ride in the upstate of South Carolina and nearby in western North Carolina, so sometimes I forget about the trail system at Croft. This was our first ride there in years, but it really is a great trail system that is not nearly as busy as some of the others in the area. Fun times…I’ll be back soon.

IMG_20160228_064545.jpg
19th century gravestones along the trail. Lots of history here!

Shared for #treetuesday by @old-guy-photos, #landscapephotography by @juliank @photocontests, and #trailtuesday by @extremejogging

Sort:  

I know it's tree tuesday, but I love the forgotten gravesite. I'd love to know the history.

I've not heard of #trailtuesday. I'll have to take a look at that since I walk the Bruce Trail and have lots of photos to share from those hikes.

Nice shots!

I do need to dig more into the history, but I do know that some of the graves at Croft are for Revolutionary War Veterans. There are quite a few old family cemeteries like this one that are hidden in the woods within the park. This site (http://www.schistory.net/campcroft/cemetery/cemetery.html) lists of several of them, including Antioch which is the one in my picture.The website even lists the inscription on this particular headstone:

Sacred / To the / memory of / MRS. CLARINDA WHETSTONE / Consort of / Mr.David Whetstone / of Spartanburgh Diet. [sicJ S.C. / Aged 37 yrs / And as she lived she died / A pattern of prudence and piety / And rests from all her labours /...
NOTE: This marker has neither a birth nor a death date.

The two graves in the photo I posted were right off the trail, but you can see some of the others in this shot.

...and I hope you will use the #trailtuesday hashtag. It doesn't seem too popular yet, but I think it is interesting so it would be nice to see it grow.

Thank you for digging up this info for me. I am very curious about such things. :) I always feel lonely for these kinds of gravesites.

I'll look into the trail tuesday tag - I'll put it on my notepad with my list of challenges I follow. Thank you very much!!!

No problem. I was curious too. It does seem a little sad that these cemeteries seem forgotten... even if it is nearly 200 years later.

Happy #TreeTuesday @jctdesign! Very nice! Love the gravestones along the path. Fascinating!

Thanks...and happy #TreeTuesday to you as well. I like your colorful tree post.

Thanks so much!

Great post and nice photos! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks so much!

Nice pictures. The headstones would look real creepy at night!

Thanks. They were a little creepy as the sun was setting, but yeah... definitely would have a different feel at night.

Whaaaaaat?
Imagine going back home at night, with only the bike lights, and passing by those grave stones. No, no, thank you aahahahahaha

Ha ha. Yeah, I was glad to find it in the daytime.

Was this your first ride out this year?

No, I get out as often as I can. If you count commuting, I ride nearly every day.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:51:14
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2110.75/3200.00
Total Photos: 94
Total comments: 115
Total contest wins: 29
And have also received a 0.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ride for healthy, good sports!

Indeed! Healthy and fun.

It looks like lots of fun! Great photo.

It was a lot of fun. Thanks!

I really thought you would be leaved out more by now!

Yes, we are. This was actually taken in March, but with all the snow we had in February, spring was late to come this year.

...also, it is interesting that there is a lot more foliage in the cemetery shot, which was take the same day. I'm not really sure why.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31