You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bon-sai Bonzai or Banzai take your pick for #treetuesday

in #treetuesday6 years ago

I remember when I first came to Japan, over a dozen years ago, I mispronounced bonsai as banzai. Of course to English speakers the words are mostly the same, and in American English our o's tend to take on an "ah" sound naturally, so I hadn't thought much of my pronunciation. The Japanese I knew at that time were partially amused and partially confused as they explained that banzai is actually something completely different.

Anyway, great shots. I have loved these small plants for years. There is an annual bonsai show here in Okazaki that I attend every year. I should try to take some photos of it this year.

Sort:  

Sounds like a very good idea to get some photos of the Okazaki show.

Banzai! no wonder your friends were surprised. It's a battle cry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69