You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staghorn Sumac Trees

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

I love sumac!! Are yours in the photos really the staghorn variety? There are SO MANY variations, I could never be a botanist. The flaming red leaves in autumn are gorgeous. We have a colony of "volunteer" sumac (thank you, birds) that I've watched from seedling to taller than me, and they create a little forest at the edge of our treeline. Toxic, invasive, but native, I love 'em! And I love your facts that accompany your photos. --Wait, you say yours are nontoxic. And here I believed ours (which look identical to your photos) are not. I'd better revisit those botany books! In my childhood we had two staghorn trees with thick trunks that were climb-able, and these look different to me. Maybe it takes many years to reach that stage of being climbable...? Great photos!!

Sort:  

They sure are pretty, aren't they? You just gotta love birds for dropping surprises. LOL! Yes, these are nontoxic staghorn. They sure don't look like they are clime-able so I think maybe they are young ones, like you said. Thanks again! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51