You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staghorn Sumac Trees

in #treetuesday6 years ago

They're pretty but an absolute beast to get rid of! The area where I grew up was filled with the trees.

Each year, the town would send cutters out to keep the sumac from overtaking the roads (which I truly believe just made the plants laugh 😂). I guess you could say that it worked, as then the sumac would grow in the opposite direction and take over the yards and gardens. The trunks have to be chopped down to the dirt, then all the saplings need to be ripped up and if you're lucky, this only has to be repeated for a few years.

Come to think of it, we never tried a flamethrower...

Sort:  

Really? I had no idea they would be such a menace. This is the first time I have seen one. HaHa! I can just picture the sumac laughing now.

So sorry that it took me so long to reply but I haven't been well since Oct. 29th. You know about my vision problem. Well, I woke up on the 29th with Vertigo and my vision was completely gone in the bad eye and really wonky in the good eye. Not to mention how my stomach felt. Just as all of that was clearing up, I had a 3 day migraine from hell and it messed me all up again. So now, I just have to take it one day at a time as far as my vision goes. I am happy to see you doing well. Thanks so much for the shout out...sooooo sweet of you! Hugs! I am going to finally reply next. I feel so bad about replying so late.

Wishing you and your family a Happy Thanksgiving! I have so much to be thankful for, and you and your friendship is very high up on my list. : )

They are fighters, I'll give them credit for that. To be fair, I developed an allergy to the plants so I'm not a fan.

Please don't apologize! I do know about your vision and some of your other health issues and don't want you to EVER feel bad about not responding. (I much rather that you take care of yourself and not stress over things like that. 🤗 We're friends and that means even if months pass without response, I'm only going to be hoping that you're okay. And most likely will send stuff to give you a laugh.)

Uggh, I have very unkind words for vertigo. One of my friends suffers from bouts of it and is often laid up and trying to do some sort of exercise her doctor recommended (which don't seem to help all that much). Then for a migraine to come on?! NOT FAIR. 😠

I'm so glad that hear that you're feeling better. And yes, one day at a time is all that can be done. You come first, all else can wait. If you ever have need of some help from me, deliveries or what not, know that I'll fill in for my favorite cool cat whenever she wants. 💙

I hope that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving Whatisnew! I'm truly grateful for your friendship as well. When I was pretty much gone from Steemit for a couple of months, you were one of the few who treated me as a true friend and checked in on me. I can't properly convey how much that meant to me. 🤗💖 (There really aren't enough emoji hearts for that. 😁)

Have yourself a terrific day, keep warm and always take care! HUGS!

Oh brisby...you are such a sweetheart!!! Tight HUGS! And you always make me smile many smiles. : ) I hope you know just how much you mean to me. And I can't thank you enough for always being there for me. : )

I feel for your friend. Yes, I was given those exercises too and I don't see any improvement. Hopefully, our bouts with vertigo will be far in between for both of us.

You have a great week and you keep warm too my dear, sweet brisby! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51