You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maine-ly a Wednesday Walk on a Tree Tuesday

in #treetuesday5 years ago

Awesome post! We took a camping trip to the New England states when I was a kid. By far Maine was my favorite part of it. We drove through Acadia National park and up the mountain. I even remember we splurged and bought a plane ride around the mountain. I was trying not to throw up the whole time, but it was still awesome. It is on my bucket list to go back there someday with my wife so she can experience the beauty of that area.

Sort:  

Oh! That sounds awesome! I haven't flown over that area, but, I know a lot of people that have. I applaud you for your adventurous activities.

It really is a beautiful area but, I can tell you that although I am from Connecticut, Maine was still like tundra country in June sometimes. I just went up there a week ago, and spring was just coming around (as you can see) I had shorts because Washington, DC is 90, but, I froze my backside off with the 59 degrees I woke up to. LOL

Nevertheless, it is the breathtaking beauty that I love about it. Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a thoughtful comment.

Thank you for being an awesome member of #SteemUSA!

!tip

Yeah, we have thought about going on our Spring Break, but I think the weather would just be too cold still to really enjoy it. I'd rather go in late Summer or Fall I think. Then you have to deal with all of the other weirdos looking at the colors changing :P. I remember Connecticut, it was a fun place. I specifically remember Mystic Seaport. I know, totally touristy, but as a kid it was cool. I also remember driving through New Hampshire and Vermont and the smell of the paper mills. Ugh. That smell will never leave my nostrils!

OMG!! Yes!!! I had a summer home in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan and wouldn't you know it! Mead Paper Mill was up there! Almost worse than the paper mills? In New Hampshire, (My family had a summer house up on Lake Winnipesaukee)there were tanneries! Now THAT smell is with me to this day! Ugh!

Mystic is the least pretty part of Connecticut, but, lots of people like the Seaport. Even adults. I don't get it, but, probably because I lived there, although I lived down closer to NYC in Greenwich and Wilton. Vermont is where all my parent's friends lived. Yesterdays hippies.

You are totally right. You should go in the late summer because Fall is unpredictable. Some years, the leaf peeking starts at the beginning of September and sometimes later and you miss it. And hotels are at a premium. I like right now to late-summer best for seeing the beauty. Although, it is beautiful always and you can never go wrong.

Now you have me smelling the mills!

We have a sugar beet factory in the next town over and it seriously makes the whole town smell when the wind is blowing just right. There is a reason Madonna doesn't talk about her hometown that much and when she does she mentions how smelly it is!

I have never smelled a sugar beet factory and now I am pretty sure I don't want to! :)

Thanks for the heads up!

Sometimes it smells like warm peanut butter cookies. Sometimes it is just this rancid acrid blah...

Oh, peanut butter cookies please!!! Do we get a choice?

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Maine-Ly A Wednesday Walk On A Tree Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95