You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree Tuesdays! Backwoods Bushcraft Camp w. Hammock Setup. Or Off Grid / Self Reliance / Camping if you like those terms better.

in #treetuesday7 years ago

I showed my wife tree tents/suspended tents yesterday, I am definitely jealous of your setup.

Sort:  

Man, I am so stoked to hear that you are out looking at such things.

Honestly, I put in over 200 nites in the hammock last year and would have been likey 90 more -- but I did not string it up before then LOL

IDK where you are -- all you need is the right layers, setup and an UQ (underquilt) to be comfy.

One good wool blanket around you in a diamond pattern is good up til just below freezing as a general rule, then layered sleep systems beyond that --- but the underquilt is the gamechanger.

-- insulates your bottom layer without crushing the insulation by laying ON it --- ir is wrapped UNDER you - is the key -- takes away the whole draft vector of attack.

(:

I had made a couple chain-linked fence hammocks I slept in with a $30 Walmart Sleeping Bag, the -20c kind when I was in Houston a few years ago but yeah the cold is a motherfucker, I would get a 3 stage sleeping system with a good rain protected shell and one outer bag good for 0c and one inner bag good for -40 or whatever. Do you have a rocket stove?

I had started making a rocket stove when I was run over.

We have not talked in a long time on here really. We had a chat in comments a month ago but if you recall when I joined here 14 mths ago, I mentioned it..... so my life has changed a lot since the car ran me down and the state is burying my file, to ruin me.

  • so clearly you understand all this stuff, by what you just wrote.

I will tell you I have slept outdoors in the hammock in that setup down to -15C (which is super cold for Americans lol)

-- and in a full MMSS sleep system, I can sleep down with proper baselayers on my body and a toque or similar down to like -40 and be comfy, not even making that up.

I have a semi tech. bag and wool everything now --- wool is so awesome LOL

Yeah -15 is quite insane, a small/portable rocketstove would do you wonders to have a coffee/tea or cook even, with nothing but twigs for fuel.

A great trick for staying warm and comfy is to place a decent cinder block sized rock/concrete block or brick around/in the fire and let them heat up thoroughly, at least half an hour, and then they will radiate quite a lot of heat for the first 2 hours (wrapping them in a dirty t shirt afterwards would suffice to handle them easier and not get burned) and will have quite enough heat 6-8 hours later to warm you up all through those long winter nights, you can sneak them next to your back or around you but especially at the feet as they regulate your body temperature and will circulate that warmth throughout ;D.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50