My New Mission : Grow 90,000 Trees

in #trees5 years ago

Planting trees is good.

Good for the planet. Good for the soul. Good for everyone.

So far I have planted 10,000 trees on our land. But now we are running out of space.

But I have a plan.

I will create a tree nursery...


My Little Nursery

If I can't plant more trees here on my land, then the next best thing I can do is grow young trees for others to plant.

We have space for about an acre of nursery. An acre is 43560 sq ft.

If each young tree needs a 2 ft square to grow in while potted, then the acre will provide space for about 10,000 trees.

It would take two or three years to ramp up production to 10,000 trees a year but I reckon by 2030 I could produce around 90,000 young trees.

Together with the 10,000 trees I have already planted on our land that will give me a lifetime total of 100,000 trees.

A UK broadleaf tree is estimated to take up 1 tonne of CO2 during an average 100 year lifespan.

If only a quarter of my 100,000 trees make it to become centenarians, then they will in total be responsible for taking up 25,000 tonnes of CO2.

An average UK citizen is currently responsible for the production of around 10 tonnes of CO2 per year.

With lower emissions in my early years, and hopefully lower emissions in a more efficient future, my lifetime CO2 total emissions will be around 500 tonnes.


What will we need

I have space. I have water.

I have trees. From trees come seeds.

Hundreds self generate every year.

With some applied seed collection and management I can produce thousands of 'baby trees'.

We have a good range of native broadleaf trees here ... oak, beech, ash, hazel, hawthorn, elder, wild cherry, willow...

We will use recycled pots collected from other uses, as well as assorted second use containers.

The only thing we will need to ramp up production of will be compost.


What will we do with all the trees

Give them away!

To anyone with a space to plant.

We need more trees.

Everywhere.



[ header graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

That's a fantastic life goal @pennsif, I'm doing a small aquaponics setup because I don't have a large piece of land. I find doing natural things is very spiritual and helps balance life behind the screen.

I love this message! Respect
Resteemed

I love this idea, I feel a warm buzz of satisfaction reading your plan with growing little trees to sell, give away or whatever. Everything helps the health of this planet.

This is an interesting idea. I hope you achieve your goals and become a great tree steward.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a great goal to have! Everyone is in need of more trees right?

We are still busy surrounding our property with trees and shrubs (for goats, they prune it). Considering we started with nothing but pasture we are still a long way off from achieving that goal. Yesterday we planted another mulberry.

Great you do this! 💕
And what we do not need is to cut down a tree. If you cut down a tree all the Co2 and other toxics plus hundreds of litres of water will be set free again.
It will take about 10 years before this all is absorbed again.

At this moment I see cities, governments cut down trees everywhere and hardly anyone has a green garden. It is not only about trees but also about plants, grass, insects, bees.
So plants, bushes, they are all needed and people should stop their wasting lifestyle.

So cool @pennsif! Will be called Pennsif Forest? <3
I am so happy to know a human like you is habituating this planet, a true guardian to earth. <3

You are our hero dear @pennsif!!! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49