GHOST OF THE OLD GROWTH CEDAR FOREST

in #trees5 years ago

As you know if you've read any of my posts, we hike nearly everyday. We are fortunate that at the end of our road, a couple own acres of land they allow us hiking privileges on. Our road used to be an old logging road, so it's pretty much straight up and then at the end is the entrance to the acres we have access to. Just before that off to the left in the woods stands this old ghost of a giant.

IMG_4471.jpeg

I took a little side trip to it to get some close ups of what must have been one magnificent tree!

IMG_4473.jpeg

As I walked around it, I was struck be it's size, even in it's state of decay. It stands as tall, if not taller, than I am. The wood looks like it was being twisted as it grew out of the ground. The other trees around it seem like little sticks in comparison!

IMG_4472.jpeg

I wonder how tall it was when it was felled? Does anybody know if there is some kind of mathematical formula to estimate the height of a tree like this? I would be curious to know.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Looks like the forest near you has some very large old trees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73