Finding Comfort In Trees

in #trees6 years ago (edited)

NatureNativeWay.jpg

Look around. Use all six senses and then zone in...on trees. There's a tree in your vicinity that's been there for at least three years and will be there another three, regardless if you are. We can find comfort in that kind of stability. I know I do. This morning, I looked through the sliding door of Gordon's living room, and there it was -a live painting of lush green. It had been raining a lot, pre-hurricane season.

I saw Elaine, Mateo and friends. Some friends were broken, some were young and new, but Elaine and Mateo were always standing in view. I've named a few of them now. There's Elaine with her arms always stretched with the entrance of the wind. When the air feels immovable, I know there's a breeze out there when I see Elaine sway. I've become attached to her. There's Mateo, as if he's in the way and serving no purpose, but Mateo's trunk is the favorite resting spot for Emmy, the dog.
Emmytree4.jpg

So tall, I've never looked up to see Mateo's draping moss and brazen branches, who says, "I'm here for you and it's because of you I'm here." Well, Mateo, can we be friends?

"One large tree can supply a day's supply of oxygen for four people." -https://projects.ncsu.edu/project/treesofstrength/benefits.htm



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30