Tag Sale Finds - September 21, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Joiner crop September 2019.jpg
Joiner

We got a great find on Saturday at one of our last tag sales. The day had started off poorly, with our first one, an estate sale, being run by someone who had no clue what things were worth. She had a clock I’d have bought, if it had been reasonable, say between $5 - $8, but she had it marked for $25. You can buy them new for $12 - $15. All the stuff was wicked high, so we left.

Sun Tea jar crop September 2019.jpg

I found this gallon sun tea jar for $2 at one of the sales. We’d selected 9 to check out on our route.

Books crop September 2019.jpg

At another I found a motherlode of Christmas stories by Debbie Macomber. I don’t like romances as a rule, but I got hooked on her Christmas stories with Call Me Mrs. Miracle.

Planer crop September 2019.jpg
Planer

Then we reached our next to last sale, and it had tools and a baseboard heater. (That’s why we selected it, it said tools in the ad.) Turns out the guy had an old planer and an old joiner. He was asking $30 for each, and my husband offered $50 for both. It was accepted. Fortunately, I hadn’t spent much before I got there and I had $2 left!

Baseboard heater crop September 2019.jpg
6’ baseboard electric heater for either the office or the bedroom, $10

We were going to have to come back with the truck to pick them up, on Sunday morning. We asked him to hold the heater and we’d pay him on Sunday, and he agreed. What a deal!

We’d seen a tag sale sign as we left and went to see what it was. Turns out it was a whole street of really good tag sales, and between us we had $4. At the first one I got a lovely flower picture for $2.

Bird planters crop September 2019.jpg
3 Planters, @ $2

Garden hook crop September 2019.jpg
Garden hook $2!

But at the next one, she had all kinds of garden stuff! So I asked her if she’d take a check, or hold the stuff for us, as we had to come back on Sunday for the tools at the other place. She said she’d take a check.

Plus she had a hand sander and she wanted $2 for that! I tend to wear them out sanding roosts in the chicken coop, to keep them clean.

At that point we could see 3 more so we headed off to the nearest ATM machine and got more cash. I think we bought 1 more thing, maybe books, I forget. I stopped at the lady we’d given a check to, to offer her cash. People are often nervous about checks, and I didn’t want to inconvenience her. But she said she was fine with it, so we left it at that.

So we headed home, with 2 more on the way to check out.

Water fountain crop September 2019.jpg

The last one had a water fountain for the garden, asking $15, offered $10 and was accepted.

So it was a REALLY productive day! We’d not really been tag saling since well before Freezer Camp, and this made up for it.

Sort:  

I've not come across the term 'Tag Sales' before in the UK.

Are these like yard sales by private individuals?

Yes, here in the US they can be called: tag sales, yard sales, garage sales, estate sales, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67