Forrest Fenns Treasure Poem and thoughts

in #treasure6 years ago

C2lAxstUcAAMM6u.jpg

As I have gone alone in there
And with my treasures bold,
I can keep my secret where,
And hint of riches new and old.

Begin it where warm waters halt
And take it in the canyon down,
Not far, but too far to walk.
Put in below the home of Brown.

From there it's no place for the meek,
The end is ever drawing nigh;
There'll be no paddle up your creek,
Just heavy loads and water high.

If you've been wise and found the blaze,
Look quickly down, your quest to cease,
But tarry scant with marvel gaze,
Just take the chest and go in peace.

So why is it that I must go
And leave my trove for all to seek?
The answers I already know,
I've done it tired, and now I'm weak.

So hear me all and listen good,
Your effort will be worth the cold.
If you are brave and in the wood
I give you title to the gold.

//

So that's it right there folks, if you haven't heard the story some crazy old art dealer who was basically the artsy alter ego of Indiana Jones hid a multi-million dollar treasure of gold and jewels and artifacts somewhere in the US rocky mountains. He's said there are 9 clues in the poem that if followed will take you to the treasure.

Here's some stuff to help you on your way. Shamelessly ripped from Dal Neitzels blog.

What we are taking as fact:
♦Located above 5,000 ft and below 10,200 ft.
♦At least 8.25 miles North of Santa Fe, New Mexico
♦Not in grave yard
♦Not in out house…..not associated with a structure
♦Not in a mine, tunnel, or cave
♦Where warm waters halt is not a dam.
♦Chest and contents weigh 42lbs. (Fenn said 44lbs. in one email, but has said 42 several other times)
♦Chest is 10x10x5 inches and made of Bronze
♦Forrest published a map in his book Too Far To Walk and told us the chest is hidden somewhere on that map
♦The treasure is in one of 4 states: Montana, Wyoming, Colorado or New Mexico
♦“Begin it where warm waters halt” is the first clue

Dal has compiled some other really great info and I didn't want to just c/v his hard work so go check out his page if your new to the story. It's a great first stop for many searchers and a nice community.

https://dalneitzel.com/cheat-sheet/

Something else I've found interesting is this cover of the book. booksmall2.jpg

Which if you look at the map of the other four states upside down so montana is on the bottom, it looks very similar, leading me to believe the search can be narrowed further to only Montana. Here's a quick sketch I did in paint to show you what I mean. map outlined and flipped.png

Alrighty Then! Hope you enjoyed the post, if you'd like to discuss some clues drop a comment below :)

Thanks for your TIME!

Sort:  

Great post! You've earned a 40.63% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

You got a 3.97% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @prometheusrisen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97