Travel Tunes Tuesday 2.0 (Get your ears around these!)

in #traveltunes6 years ago (edited)

Ok let's have a go at this, thanks @nomadicsoul & @daveonarrival for the opportunity to skip down my musical memory lane.
Here's my top three countdown from 12 years of traveling with my ever present best friend, girlfriend, wife and now the amazing mother of our daughter @bohohobo , these are dedicated to you my love x

1 - Hello by The Cat Empire

We first came across this Australian band in 2006, funnily enough while campervanning in... Australia! We'd bought a 30 odd year old Toyota 'poptop' campervan and drove her from Cairns down the east coast, the long way. It took us 9 months, of eating beans and sardines on toast, singing out loud while driving, surfing in the mornings and playing guitar and learning poi in the afternoons. 'Little Buddha' as we christened her was and still is the best 'home' we've ever had. I'd go back in the blink of any eye ;)

2 - Doo Doo Doo (song) Job2Do

Don't think this one won many MTV awards this particular year but it was a constant favourite of ours on the ipod shuffle while we ran 2 Rocks Beach Bar on the infamous full moon party island of Koh Phangan in Thailand (probably our 2nd favourite home). Ne'er a dull moment at 2 Rocks beach bar, and the sunsets were sublime. Not the most financially profitable of businesses of all time, but definitely the best job on the planet for the couple of years we were there! Sometimes it's not all about making cash ;)

1919039_420512045408_8097119_n.jpg

3 - Clandestino by Manu Chao - Live Glastonbury 2008 (not 2009 as YT says, I was there still got my wristband!)

Finally may I introduce/reintroduce you to Manu Chao a mashed up, eclectic band of misfits & musicians from all over the world with a strong Latin American influence. We literally stumbled over these guys at Glastonbury in 2008 (I promise) along with thousands of other revelers who were actually at the Pyramid stage to see, what would prove to be Amy Winehouse's last performance at the festival...
Probably not a travel music story if we're being strict, but we did 'travel' to Glastonbury in another camper...from Yorkshire which is a really, really, really long way from Glastonbury!

Be Happy & Smile often :)

1930620_47065520408_5846_n.jpg

Sort:  

oooh I love beach bar music!! SO cool that you had a beach bar even if it wasn't profitable. I agree...it's not all about making cash all the time. But man that's so fascinating...because I thought of opening up a cafe or something on Thailand but couldn't imagine how it would be profitable at all...but it would be fun for me...such a cool fact about you!

Oh SOO cool you got to see Manu Chao in person!! Not even fair!!

I heard them for the first time in Costa Rica. Thanks for sharing your music with us! Resteeming

Thanks for the great idea @nomadicsoul I really enjoyed compiling the list and remembering very fond memories. Be happy & smile often my friend :)

I'll have to think of some of my own travel tunes 🎶

Definitely recommend it! At first I thought I would struggle to think of 'local' music from our travels, but actually I could've done more. Looking forward to your tunes ;) Check out the challenge at #traveltunes

Thanks for sharing your travel tunes. I haven't listened to Manu Chao in a while.

Cheers mate ;)

Interesting set of tracks and also nice you discovered then while travelling. Travelling is in your DNA? Your daughter seems to travel as well :)

In our DNA and bloodstream, and nowadays our daughter seems to have inherited the genes...happy dayz! :) Be happy & smile often my friend :)

I love the music of Manu Chao in particular Clandestino. I have been also to some concert of him . The first song sounds great while driving in the Eastern Coast of Australia .... (I also travelled through it :) ). The second one was completely new for me but good enough to listen to it.

Yes I think their music is infectious like a happy disease! Glad you enjoyed my selection @philfreetotravel maybe you should have a go at the Travel Tunes Tuesday challenge? #traveltunes I would love to hear your travel tunes! Be happy & smile often my friend :)

lumpa I will give you

0.040 to 0.060 SBD vote
Resteem your post to 4000 followers
give you 20 to 30 upvotes

In just 0.080
Sand @farhannaqvi7 with your post memo :) You can see whom sand me i must give these service to them .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85