London - Hobbit visited, Hobbit would visit again ASAP

in #travelling7 years ago (edited)

20170604_172538.jpg

The last time I wrote I announced my first big trip to England and Scotland and promised to write everyday. The next day already, I was lost in the packing, I forgot all about the writing and the next 10 days, writing wasn't at all on my mind.

I thought I would make it up to myself and Steemit community by writing now, when am back to reality, back to work and back to my laptop with beer in front me. (And while I wash all the dirty clothes and think through where will I put all the souvenires I brought back).

In a nutshell, days consisted of sightseeing as much as we could and with trying as much new food and beers as we could afford. Britain is not cheap, especially not when seeing it through the Croatian "wallet". I tried to not think about money and tried to enjoy as much as I could - hell, I do not know when I will take similar trip. Although, my hobbit feets are burning up to go somewhere new as soon as possible.

It's little to say that 10 days flew by and, although it started in London the day of the last attacks, other days were pretty carefree. It was really hard for my parents and boyfriend to think about me, hobbitsized person running around a big melting pot which London is the day after that gruesome attack. I was not even sure if I would enjoy it and what kind of atmosphere will it be - but everything was as normal as I could expect it to be - tourists everywhere, while those not involved in the attack continued their normal lives, being busy bees.

As I said in the last post, visiting Britain, particulary London, was my dream since I was in elementary school and I was afraid it would kind of disappoint me - but boy, oh boy- the city is absolutely stunning! We walked as much as we could everywhere we wanted to go and took city buses when we went a bit further, not underground, because, although buses are slower option, we accepted it as a cheap sightseeing tour. We tried to visit as much of Harry Potter hotspots as we could, since we are both Potterheads. Behind the Palace Theater we found the House of Minalima - a graphic studio which is responsible for all great designs in movie and many covers of books. They have free exibiton every hour or so, where you have a tour guide which introduces you to the world of Minalima and through their Harry Potter journey. I highly recommend it - even if you are not Potterhead, but someone who enjoys great design solutions and creativity.

Thankfully, great weather stayed (by great, I mean it was not raining) through our three days in London and I visited all the touristy spots - Hyde Park, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, Tower Bridge, Millenium Bridge, St. Paul's Cathedral, One New Change (highly recommend it if you want to have a panoramic view to London), King's Cross, Picadilly Circus and many, many other spots. Sadly, I haven't had time to visit Baker Street (to be fair, I couldn't afford going into Sherlock Holmes Museum, so going there would be kind of waste of time to travel to there). However, it's on my bucket list for some other time, when London would feel safe again.

I must comment how souvenirs shops were kind of a bummer, at least for me, and expensive - but nothing seemed worth buying. However, I found that in the museums shops you can find Alice Tait London souvenirs, which are a bit on expensive side, but worth buying if you want a minimalistic, but creative souvenir from London.

Oh yeah, I also runned a 5k marathon (well, ran is a bit of an overstate - I walked through Color Run). It was fun, but not worht 30 quid.

I will leave you now with some pictures that are dear to me, and with a promise to write about my visit to Edinburgh and Glasgow in the next few days.

DSCF1275.JPG

DSCF1259.JPG

DSCF1325.JPG

DSCF1337.JPG

DSCF1384.JPG

DSCF1392.JPG

DSCF1428.JPG

DSCF1778.JPG

DSCF1794.JPG

DSCF1869.JPG

20170612_160057.jpg

20170612_193521.jpg

  • Hobbitmess
Sort:  

Can't belive I haven't seen you here before! It's so nice to meet you, my dear Hobbit!:) Followed you, Rolkien fans must be together on steemit!
P.S. Wonderful post!:) Is that you drawing in the road?

Thank you for the follow!
No, that's not me - I am afraid I don't know who the artist in the photo is, I just wanted to capture how great her work is. :)

Congratulations @hobbitmess! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40