Buffalo Dog.

in #travelling7 years ago (edited)




Blog 7

We've got chickens. They weave about you looking for anything worth scratching or pecking at. They are usually followed by a trail of cheeping fluff bags. I've got geckos that slap about the wall and ceiling and make noises much louder than physics should allow for their size. I've a dribbbly little ginger kitten sprawled on my stomach, right now. But it's my next door neighbour who wins any animal competition. He's got a dog that's a water buffalo. It's rubbish at catching balls though and you can't get it to chase sticks and you would also need a bin liner as a doggie poo bag. It's very well behaved though. I haven't heard it bark once. Buffalo are wide spread across the island and are often seen grazing under the shade of a tree on the walking path. They don't spook easy, unlike cows, and are quite friendly. They are partial to a good tickling behind the ear. Funnier faces than cows, as well. So, basically, what I'm trying to say is that a buffalo is a dead good cow but a rubbish dog. I came across an albino buffalo the other day. White bristles and pink skin. From behind it looked like a monster pig. Pigs are plentiful here and are more of the Vietnamese pot belly style. Very funny. Very friendly. Some of them look like they've been coloured in with crayon. the colours and patterns are great. Again their habitat is in the shade of a tree on the side of a path or under a thicket of bamboo and if they've got some shit to mooch in they are as happy as a pig in shit. Animals, people. All laid back here. It's difficult not to be. The scenery, where ever you are on the island, (Dondet) soothes you. The flow of the Mekong pacifies the monkey mind. The whole area is a natural sedative. People are always telling us to hurry up. Well, my faith lies in nature and nature's telling me 'What's the rush, man?' I don't intend on finding out but I wouldn't be surprised if it's physically impossible to be able to rush here. A chicken has just jumped up on to the table. I'm sure if it stays there long enough someone will shoo it off. It's about 12 inches out of range for me, so I'm helpless. Anyway, yeah, rushing. What a preposterous idea. Who thought that one up.

Speechless.





Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44