5 THINGS I'VE LEARNED FROM LIVING OUT OF A BACKPACK

in #traveling6 years ago

Three years ago today, I've made one of the many impulsive decisions in my life - to live out of a backpack. For some people, it's ridiculous, especially for those who love to dress up and enjoy the comforts and stability in life. However, for me, it's harder to live with so many things especially clothes and yet find yourself constantly wanting for more or saying "I've got nothing to wear".

So, let allow me share to you the five things I've learned from living out of a backpack:

1. You don't need a lot of things.

Looking back, I remember every time I'm getting ready for work. I used to get stressed out thinking what clothes and shoes to wear, which bag to use, etc.  I used to end up feeling sad because I felt like, everything I owned was never enough. Thus, it gave me a strong desire to have and want more. I was never contented. Now, however, that I literally own just a backpack full of clothes, an air bed and a laptop computer with me, life has been a lot easier. The less I have, the less I desire to have more. I'm enjoying my minimalist life. 

2. Everything is temporary.

Living out of a backpack means moving constantly, too. Frequent moving taught me not to hold on to things and relationships. This for me is the hardest part. I have met a lot of people with beautiful souls, made some meaningful relationships but then, at some point, someone always has to leave. It's never easy but being aware of how temporary things are made me value whatever I have and learned to live in the moment.

3. Change is good.

Adjusting to a new  environment, new people and new circumstances is never easy. It could be very scary and stressful.  But, sometimes, it's necessary. Whenever I find myself doing the same routine, and not really being productive, I try to change my environment so I could change my feeling and mindset because it's always good to have a fresh start. 

4. Home is where the backpack is. 

"So Gina, where is home?"

I get this question a lot and I honestly don't know how to answer it accurately. I have a lot of places I consider my home. Say for instance, in just two years, I've already moved 11 times! Five of those I consider my home. Home is when I'm with the people I love regardless of how much time I spent there, Home is where my backpack is.

5. Everyone has different priorities and that's okay.

Being a 26-year-old Filipina, it's inevitable to get asked a lot by family and friends about when will I settle down, get married and have kids or when will I start saving up for a house or a car since many of my friends are already doing so. I even remember someone  dissing me for not having a stable or permanent home yet. I honestly don't see myself doing any of those. I want to see and truly experience more of the world and just be carefree. That for me is my priority. So, whatever priorities and choices you may have, that's totally fine. Life only comes around once, so do whatever makes you happy.


I am not here to encourage you to quit your job and live out of a backpack  or live a minimalist life. It is not for everybody. But if you do, one thing is (for) sure, it's not always easy and pleasant. You will miss your family or friends' weddings, birthdays, etc. and won't get invited to some special occasions because they know you won't be there anyway. Worst part? It's when you realize things aren't the same as they used to. Some people have moved and and get on with their lives and you'd feel like you're not even part of their lives anymore. But, if this is the path you've chosen, you will be happy! After all, it's all about living in the moment, right? Savor every moment, every relationship, every sunset and sunrise. It'll be worth it.

Sort:  

Wow I m inspired by your story. I'm 24 years old in an office job yet every weekend has been an adventure for me. I hope to someday be like you. Take the road and travel as much as I can. You are inspiring! Keep it up hope to see more of your adventures!!

Aww. Thank you! I'm glad it did. I'm honored.
That's good that you go on adventures every weekend. You deserve a break from time to time. :)
Yes, for sure! I want to know what do you usually write about. Tell me about your adventures too~ :)

this is very interesting post, i've read about people who are minimalist and they find life easier,it may not be applicable for me now bec i have lots of responsibilities as a wife but il consider it in the future,living out in a backpack is awesome!!!

Hello @orhem Thank you so much! Yes, it is way easier than my life before tbh.
Don't worry, you will find what suits you or what you'd like. :)
<3 Sending some warm regards from the Philippines! :)

Amazing post. Which countries did you live?

Thank you! :)
I haven't lived overseas yet. I am moving to Vietnam in May though but I really want to go to as many islands and places in the Philippines first before living abroad. Nest month, I am going on an extreme adventures to the most "dangerous" parts of the Philippines. :)
Have you been to Tawi-tawi and South Cotabato?

nice gin, next time select a tag in the trending section you can use "travel" instead of traveling: popular tags are travel blog life story photography for more visibility, keep exploring ;)) welcome back

Aww thanks Miss Rose <3
I'll keep that in mind. <3 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51