You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Diary Travelogues | Eastern Europe | 1994 | September 11 to 15 | Part 5 – Russia

in #travelfeed6 years ago

That's like raw Russia before tourism really started. Must be very difficult for a foreigner who doesn't speak Russian. And those policemen are scary, not the best locals to meet in some places (either you did something wrong or they'll do something wrong).

And this part is a cliffhanger! :D Have to read the next part soon to find out what happened there with the dodgy ticket and expiring visa.

Sort:  

....didn't make it to Estonia - I'm writing this from prison in Siberia, only another 7 years to go yaaaay!!! Sorry to spoil it for you :(
siberian-gulag-barge.jpg

LOL, and yeah, the language was challenging at first. But I had been in that situation many times before and had two things to help me out:
(1) the Russian alphabet - which I learnt + the little dictionary I bought in Moscow. I could read signs, I could look up simple words to get important meanings across when necc.
(2) a knowledge of other languages. This helps a lot as roots of words can be recognised and a vague (often accurate enough for practical purposes) sense can be derived.

I did get a tiny little sense of what it must've been like under a totalitarian regime of fear, with something to hide :D

Waaaaaah why a prison 😯 and a totalitarian regime feeling 😰 I have to read the next chapter tomorrow.

Being multilingual is really useful. And you must really know a lot since you were able to derive from root words. Awesome!

Btw, another good tag you can use is ocd-resteem. I think every curation group should see your work :D

LOL you'll have to wait and see if I'm just pulling your leg :D

I'll check out the tag....thanks very much @wanderlass 🔆 🔆 🔆 (edit: just checked it and I'll defo use it!! Great, you've suggested two fantastic tags!)

Oh ya, the totalitarian feeling was coz of all the uniforms and me knowing that my visa had expired - that's in St. Petersburg, dunno if you've got there yet :D

Lol I would have to wait for that. I'm not on the next part yet, just waiting for workday Friday to end :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59