You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What To Do When Your Phone Gets Lost Or Stolen (While Living) Abroad

in #travelfeed6 years ago

So far I had the chance not to have an issue with my phone.
However I have a second mobile with me with no contact where I can install apps that leak data, like WhatsApp and Instagram (I don't have Facebook but that's where it would go). That's like a second phone with no sim card.

I use Authy too and I install it on both device for preventing this to occur.
All my laptop data are on a private secured NextCloud.

My computer broke down a month ago and I had to get a new one where I am these weeks. Not convenient for the keyboard layout!

I hesitated to get a second sim card (I'm officially based in France where mobile subscriptions are really cheap) but I haven't gone that far yet. However I hardly see myself going back to France to get it shipped. But I'm mostly around Europe or America, where shipping may be less of a pain…

I also had issues with credit cards, but of course I have spares in a separate bag. Nevertheless, because I move a little too often it's always tricky to know where to get it to…

I'll think through it and consider options. Good reminders here 👌

Sort:  

That's interesting!!! Ok, so you can install authy on both devices and it works? For some reason, I thought it was attached to your phone number.

I don't know what NextCloud is, but I need to look that up. Most of my stuff is backed up on an external hard drive...hopefully that's good enough? I know clouds are better. But knowing me I'd lose the password even though I use LastPass.

Oh haha yeah the keyboard layout can be a mess if it's another language!! eek.

Yeah, I trust mail to pretty much usually always get there in Europe or US, but in Asia not as much. Even something I sent to someone from Indonesia never arrived =/. I DID finally get my debit card here in Vietnam though after a month of trying. Third time's the charm!

Customs will sometimes hold your stuff hostage and you have to pay a bribe to get your package. I usually also have spare cards, but that's a whole differerent long story.

I move a little too often too. Haha I think I'm going to stay somewhere for at least 6 months. Definitely doing the backup phone thing, even if one is cheap.

Thanks for the tips!

NextCloud is a home-based cloud solution (on your server or on a raspberry-pi or a server at "home"). Like a DropBox + Google Contact + Agenda + …, but with privacy and more space (as it's on your own disks).

Even if Authy is attached to your phone number, you are still able to activate it on your second phone while receiving the SMS code on your first mobile ;)

I guess I need to write some day about these things on SteemIt too…
Your article will be a motivation to spend the time on that! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75