What to do when passport is stolen?

in #travelfeed6 years ago

Tina Dahmen Passport stolen.png

Your passport gone is? What do you do now?

Along with your credit card, this document is pretty much the most important thing in your backpack. Just don’t panic. It happens to a lot of travelers and nobody has died because of it, yet.

So, what to do when your passport is stolen?

Rule number one is ALWAYS take it easy. You still have both of your arms and legs, so it could be worse, alright?

Rule number two:

Go and see the embassy or consulate of your home country. Most of the time you can find those in the bigger cities or even in the capital of the country you are currently in.

Writing an email to the embassy and asking for advice is pretty senseless as they usually take forever to reply (authorities :-p ) They take their time to reply to any messages, so you will most likely just waste your time... But sometimes you can also have some luck:

The German Online-Travel portal ab-in-den-urlaub.de made a test with 150 embassies around the world.

They send out emails claiming they lost their passports. The company found out, that every 5th embassy needed more than five working hours to reply to your email. Four didn’t even bother to respond at all. 59 per cent of the embassies replied within 2 hours and also had some advice to give.

Hoe to get a new passport

  • You can find out the address of your embassy or consulate here, or just type it into Google (XY country consulate)

  • Take a spare copy of your passport with you to the embassy (always keep a copy of your passport in your Google drive or somewhere else)

  • Go to the local police station and make an advertisement of loss

  • Make new passport pictures (you should have some with you anyways on every departure)

  • Go to the embassy

  • Request a new passport and pay

  • Wait for a couple of days (…or weeks)

  • Go and pick up your new passport

Done!

‘Replacement passports’ are usually issued very quickly within just a couple of days. Usually, they are just valid for a short amount of time.

Embassies exist in only one place in the country, usually in the capital. Consulates, depending on the country, are represented more often in other cities.

How to prevent the loss of your passport and other valuable items

If you go out, leave the most important documents behind at your accommodation.

Your best bet would be to leave it in a safe or in a locker, or even at reception. (Unfortunately in some countries, e.g. Australia (WA), you only get into clubs and pubs with your passport as a foreigner, they do not accept a regular ID).

  • Create a backup of your most important documents (physical copies and also online)

  • Wear a bumbag with all your belongings when you are on the go

  • Always have body contact with your daypack (the little rucksack). E.g. in the bus. Stick your foot through one of the arm straps or just have it sit on your lap

  • For your valuables, use a Pacsafe 12L

I lost my passport once in Bali. You can find out more about the procedure here (subscribe to my channel if you haven't done so yet)

Other than that, I had only my Kindle gone missing. It was in Australia when I gave some people a lift with my car. During the trip, we decided to stop at a nice place for a couple of days, go kayaking together and camp in the bush. My Kindle then magically disappeared...

Even if you have some like-minded people in your car (at least that’s what you think), you will be surprised how wrong you can be at times.

But compared to the amount of times I have done these things, that one time was a rare case anyway.

Normally, people are in the same boat and take care of each other when you travel together.

Nevertheless, always be on the guard. Luckily, it was just the Kindle.

Learn how to stay safe on the road here.

Did ever anything like that happen to you? Things went missing? Please share your experiences in the comment section below.

Please share this post amongst your friends, they might find it helpful.

For the girls on Steemit, please feel free to join the new women on Steemit group.

Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of Copy of youtube.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tinadahmen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-to-do-when-passport-is-stolen


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@Tinadahmen, thanks for the useful information. I will definitely keep your tips/advice in mind when travelling.

Please check out my message to you link Check in the comments, please.

All good! :) What link is this? It doesn't work unfortunately.

oh man....sorry about that. I was inviting you to consider participating in the Curation Contest that I had featured you in last week. Here is the link to the contest.

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-5-win-sbi-and-steem-bounty

And as a previously featured steemian participating for the first time, you can become eligible for a bonus. Do check it out.

Ah yes one of my greatest concerns. I have a travelers belt with my passport on me at all times! While it may not be the most stylish things one can wear I feel so much more secure than having in a bag or leaving it in some room that I am staying in. Most of my banks have also informed me that I cannot have a replacement card sent to me if it is lost so I am taking extra precautions. But it sounds like in some cases this is just something you can't prevent. It happens. But thank you for your advice and experiences so that we can prevent these things in the future. Cheers and keep up the good work.

I agree on the 'not so stylish' part haha. But who cares when you are proper travelling.. You gotta watch out. Try REVOLUT for your bank card. They are great. They act like a credit card but only with the topped up money.. Maybe worth having a look for you if you are with funny banks who won't replace your card. Which bank does that btw?!

I never lost things. At least not until now.
But in more than one people try to take my stuffs: thief on a metro station in Paris saying he help me to buy my ticket; a man came and tried to open my bag in Montmarte (what the hell !!! I'm here man in front of my bag); another thief wanted to distract me while his partner was taking my backpack on a train in Brussels (i swear that backpack already was part of me); 2 man following us in El Cairo; a man asking me if a wanna buy a gun in San Salvador; I saw how some guys took baggage from a bus in Leon; in Suceava some other guys came to me because they were thirsty, they were druggies and i just gift them my bottle.
I haven't been in Bali, how is there?

How, a lot of different scenarios right there! Bali is tricky lol. You gotta watch your stuff at all times. People snitching bags off you while riding scooters... or pulling on your headphones to get to your phone and 'normal' stuff like that! :)

Riding scooters next to you and then, zasss, bye bye stuffs. When you get down "ohh i can't find the money for mangos @tinadahmen gave me...., maybe it felt from the scooter..."
mmmm Interesting !!

Yeah, pretty normal XD

a very useful article? I watched your video, I heard your voice for the first time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61641.91
ETH 2997.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45