You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Switzerland travel series - part 7 - Säntis

in #travelfeed6 years ago

What a great travel blog! I always loved the mountains. I grew up in Austria, and lived most of my life in Canada, near the Rockies, until returning to Austria.
Alas, I am too old now for strenuous hikes, but I could handle the cable car, lol.
upvoted and resteemed

Sort:  

Thank you for stopping by! I have never been to Canada, but seen so many posts about Rockies that it feels like I've been there already :)

Why did you come back to Austria?

There are so many cable cars in Switzerland that bring you to very high altitudes. Also, I love to see older people wandering around the mountains. I'm sure you'd manage an easier trail as well!

Easy trails - yes, of course. I do have some conditions, so it would have to be easy trails. Thinking about years ago having my youngest son in a pouch on my chest hiking in the Rockies.......
There are cable cars in Austria also. In the Canadian Rockies, not so - only one I know is in Banff. No Schutzhaus up on top anywhere. You hike, you are on your own in the wild. There are places in British Columbia no man (other than the Natives) has ever set foot on.
Why did I return to Austria: there was nothing anymore that could have kept me in Canada (long story). I am retired. Winters are brutal and start mid October, and we had snowstorms even in May, with a short Summer. Nice for the Tourists in Summer, I guess. I worked mostly outdoors on the Canadian Railway.
SH109871ps-blakiston-falls-web.jpg
Blakiston Falls, Waterton Lakes National Park, Alberta

SH109958ps-crp-web1600.jpg
Black Bear (they actually come in all colors) encountered on the way, munching on dandelion greens and keeping an eye on me. Also in Waterton.
SH109402ps TN-web.jpg
..... and in Winter, Cameron Falls, also Waterton. It was about 1½ hours drive from where I lived.
right-click the images, they are fairly large

There is something special about hiking in a wild place but I like the feeling that you are safe in the Alps. Doesn't matter how high you go, there is always some facilities in case you need them. I don't want to say that I like certain comfort but rather look at it as being safe..

Rockies sound very wild to me. I've heard there are many bears and it's very common to come across them. I see that you were lucky too :) Are they used to people and remain calm or is it rather dangerous to meet them?

Wow! Those waterfalls are amazing! I don't even want to think how cold it must be to have them frozen like this!

I understand your reasons. And home is and will remain your home :) Winters in Austria must be milder. Do you live somewhere in a big city or rather a small village?

Grizzly bears could be dangerous if they didn't have breakfast yet, black bears not so much, since they usually don't hunt larger prey. One must be careful if they have young ones. If you have a dog, keep it leashed: if you let them running freely, they scare up a bear, and then run back to you for protection - and guess what: a dog can run faster than you, and a bear runs as fast as a horse!
Austria: I live in Vienna. The nearest mountains worth mentioning are about 1½ hours away. My friend Peter lives in the area of the Hohe Wand and Schneeberg is not too far from there.

S
S (named ess , plural esses) is the 19th letter in the Modern English alphabet and the ISO basic Latin alphabet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67350.62
ETH 2656.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69