[PHOTO ESSAY] A road trip to 'vintage' Veere, The Netherlands

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [PHOTO ESSAY] A road trip to 'vintage' Veere, The Netherlands


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

Indeed, these photos look very interesting. At first glance, it is difficult to immediately determine at what time they are made. It's a good idea to keep this city without any visible change. I liked Your story about this trip. Thank you for the original photos.

That's a great compliment @madlenfox! I really wanted to emphasize the 'vintage' look in these series, I was so amazed by the unspoiled vistas in this town :-) Thanks a lot for commenting!

Lovely post Soyrosa. Just a beautiful place, photographed with the beauty intact.

I grew up near a town no larger than this one, so I am always drawn to them. I like that the modern residents can't alter the outside look. A very nice idea.

Thank you for a wonderful post.

I love that too @bigtom13 - sometimes it's a building, in this case whole streets that get this 'protected state' - really keeps some parts of the Netherlands charming and lovely. We have so much history, it's good to cherish it :-)

Thanks for your comment and support!

omg, those alleys... yes.. i can think of a movie to shoot there... one of the transporter series, or similar.. perhaps a bond movie ;)

It would be AWESOME to have a Bond movie here ;-)

inspires me to go do a shoot on an island near here... or at least rumage through all my old photos,, and finmd the ones i took LAST time i was there :D

What a lovely place and you described it so beautifully.
That first picture really seems to capture the essence of The Netherlands history.

Actually your username '@vliet' sounds very Dutch! But I guess it isn't - where are you from? And where does that name come from? Haha. Thanks for commenting! :-)

Hahaha! I would have never imagined my username could sound like anything in particular. It's just something I came up with on the spot when I was signing up, 'v' is the first letter of my name (Vytene) and 'lie' is the first syllable of 'Lietuva', my home country Lithuania, so I'm Lithuanian :D Lovely to meet you!

Looks like a lovely spot to visit. Beautiful. Just the sort of place I'd love to visit.

Yes, you would love taking pictures here I'm sure of it @jfolkmann! If you're ever in the Netherlands... You have a guide ;-)

wow! nice post Rosanne! i hope can go someday

I hope you will @albertocotua! :-)

think it is interesting to explore such places. and it is hard to find towns that did not change their architecture for that long. I love those narrow streets with all that green. old bricks and overgrown greenery immediately gives a feel of something old :)

Yes, the combination of old bricks and green is amazing - as if it's meant to blend this way :-) Do you have such towns in Serbia @bil.prag? :-)

well Vojvodina is kinda flat in all directions so our streets are straight and wide :) south Serbia has that small streets but that kind of bricks was not really a building material back in the days. you could probably find something like that but not that i know where :D

Gorgeous photos! I was in Veere 15 years ago when all I had was an early digital point and shoot and I think I took 2 photos! Thanks for the memories!

TWO! That is NEVER enough :D I would love to see them if you still have them haha!

I found 4 or 5! I'll put them together into a post...can I include one of your photos and a link to your post?

Ok...I'm posting it, hope you are Ok with it!

Wow how charming is this place! I love the feel of it, I can almost smell the air. I only visited Amsterdam when I visited Netherlands but I really do love the nature that I saw. The trees and flowers and smells. It's romantic! Great photography! Thanks for sharing this with us :)

It IS romantic! Hope you can come back to the Netherlands someday and explore these cute little towns yourself :-) Thanks for visiting and commenting! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25